On behalf of the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH), the following checklist provides the necessary information to become credentialed as a mental health screener in the State of Delaware. Title 16, Chapter 51 of the Delaware Code states that only psychiatrists and approved professionals have the authority to detain or revoke a detainment of an individual for a psychiatric evaluation.
- Application Requirements:
- Completed Screener Application or Physician Screener Application
- Copy of active license and/or certifications, if applicable
- Copy of job description for all positions other than physicians
- A professional reference letter
- Create a Delaware Learning Center Account (DLC) Account
- Training Requirements:
- Completion of self-paced, virtual training required by DSAMH
- Completion of the on-line training required by DSAMH
- Approved Professionals:
- Licensed Psychiatrist in the State of Delaware
- Licensed Physician in the State of Delaware and Board Certified by the American Board of Emergency Medicine – Completed Physician Application
- Licensed Physicians in the State of Delaware
- Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner licensed and certified in the State of Delaware
- Licensed Physician’s Assistant in the State of Delaware
- Licensed Advanced Practice Nurse in the State of Delaware
- Licensed Registered Nurse in the State of Delaware with a BSN degree
- Licensed Psychologist in the State of Delaware
- Licensed Clinical Social Worker in the State of Delaware
- Licensed Professional Counselor of Mental Health in the State of Delaware
- Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist in the State of Delaware
- Unlicensed Mental Health Professionals under direct supervision of a Psychiatrist
Each credentialed screener shall complete the forty - hour, Mental Health Screener Credentialing training assigned through the Delaware Learning Center (DLC).
MH Screener classes will be held on the 2nd Monday of every other month, via the self-paced, pre-recorded modules in DLC. Classes will go live in DLC during the following months: September, November, January, March, May and July.
Participants will have 90 days to complete the training modules. If the participant fails to complete the courses within the 90-day window, the classes will be removed from the transcript in DLC and the participant will be required to re-apply.
Each Credentialed Mental Health Screener (CMHS) shall be required to re-new their credential every two (2) years. Each CMHS shall submit an updated application, a copy of active license or certifications, and an updated job description and resume, if applicable, to meet the renewal requirements.
Renewal applications shall be submitted to the MH Screener Resource Mailbox: DHSS_DSAMH_MHSCREENER@delaware.gov
Please note: Some of the files available on this page are in Adobe PDF format which requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. A free copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader can be downloaded directly from Adobe . If you are using an assistive technology unable to read Adobe PDF, please either view the corresponding text only version (if available) or visit Adobe's Accessibility Tools page.