Current Suspected Overdose Deaths in Delaware for 2023: Get Help Now!
The collection and disbursement of child support payments is the responsibility of the Division of the Child Support Services.
(If you are having trouble securing employment, maybe the Delaware Fatherhood Program can assist. For more information, please visit our fatherhood page Fatherhood.html or contact us at 302-577-7171)
Payment methods include:
Under normal circumstances, payments made electronically using DCSS's iPayOnline application will be credited to your child support account(s) within 4 business days and applicable amounts will be disbursed by DCSS within an additional 2 business days. If you have any questions regarding your payments please contact DCSS. Please allow 5 business days for electronic payment processing before calling to inquire. DCSS Customer Service can be reached in New Castle County at (302)577-7171, in Kent County at (302)739-8299, or in Sussex County at (302)856-5386.
iPayOnline: Eliminates check writing. Enables employers to categorize employee cases/payments into organizational units/divisions. Enables tracking of pending payments, and viewing of the payment history. To get started, users need to register online. Note: Employers must have a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN). Upon successful registration, users will be able to submit a one time, or recurring, electronic child support payment (at no charge). As of September 2018, iPay Online is now more convenient and accepts credit and debit payments. For more information, please call customer service at (302) 577-7171
TouchPay Kiosks will accept regular Child Support and Purge Payments via Cash, Credit or Debit Card. Kiosks are located at the following locations:
Enforcement payment methods are also received by check or electronic funds transfer from various government agencies, private sources, insurance companies, and financial institutions and are credited to the individual accounts.
PAYMENT ADDRESSES: Regularly scheduled child support payments must be made by check or money order only. All child support payments must be mailed to the appropriate PO Box listed below:
When payments are received in the Division, they are recorded, credited to the appropriate account, and a disbursement is made to the custodial parent within two (2) business days, either by check, direct deposit to a designated bank account, or as a credit to their Reliacard.
Payments to the custodial parents are dependent upon a variety of factors. DCSS distributes payments using an automated system developed to comply with the Personal Responsibility Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA). Federal regulations direct how child support agencies distribute money collected for child support payment. Federal regulations also provide that support due is based on a monthly calculation.
The money is first distributed to satisfy the amount of current support due for the month based on the court order. Once the full monthly calculated amount of current support is paid, any payments received within that month are distributed to satisfy any monthly calculated past-due (arrears) payment owed to the custodial parent.
In appropriate cases, once both current support and custodial arrears payments for the month are received, any additional payments received within the month are distributed to satisfy any arrears payment assigned to the State for repayment of previously received public assistance. If the case was ever a TANF case, custodial arrears are paid dependent upon how they were assigned.
In those cases where support payments are received from a non-custodial parent (NCP) who is responsible to make payments for more than one family, the payments are split among the cases for these families. The payments will be pro-rated based on a ratio of each individual family's monthly court order, divided by the total amount ordered for all child support cases associated with this NCP within the State of Delaware. Distribution of payments is made first to satisfy all current support due for that month for all cases prior to distribution of any arrears payments.