Current Suspected Overdose Deaths in Delaware for 2023: Get Help Now!
Find school water testing results and additional resources
Changes coming to SNAP Benefits: Extra Emergency Food Benefits End March 1, 2023
A: Complete the official form (ORC R16-D) located on the Radiological Technologist & Technician Certification page of this website, and submit the completed form with a check for $50.00 made payable to the Delaware Office of Radiation Control and the official form from the state that you are apply to. If you provide a fax number for the state you are applying to, the verification will be faxed as well as mailed, to that state to expedite the process.
A: All applicants desiring certification must submit a completed application, the required application fee, and either proof of national credential recognized by Delaware (ARRT, NMTCB, CCI or DANB CDA), OR pass a state-approved certification examination.
A: An applicant must be at least 18 years of age at the time of application, OR be currently enrolled in and attending an educational program in radiation technology, and pay a non-refundable application and examination fee (if applicable) established by rule of the Authority on Radiation Protection. An applicant who passes a state-approved certification examination but is not yet 18 years of age will be issued a certificate upon reaching their 18th birthday.
A: All individuals administering radiation to human patients in Delaware who are not state-licensed practitioners must be certified, as required by the Radiation Technologist/Technician Certification Regulation No. established by Delaware’s Authority on Radiation Protection, which states "No individual other than a Licensed Practitioner or Certified Radiation Technologist/Technician shall use a Source of Radiation on humans for diagnostic, therapeutic and/or research purposes." State-licensed physicians, dentists and dental hygienists are exempt from the certification requirements for Radiation Technologists and Technicians in Delaware.
A: Application forms can be obtained on our website. You can download and print form R16N, Application for Radiography Certificate National Credential located on the right hand side of the web page under the Applications and Forms heading. Read and follow the instructions carefully and mail the completed application with the required application fee of $10.00 made payable to the Delaware Office of Radiation Control AND a photocopy of your national credential (membership card or certificate) to the address specified on the application form.
A: There are 3 categories of state certification exams:
A: Applications for certification are processed in the order received, and processing time depends on the volume of applications in progress. The average time to process an application is typically within three weeks after receipt provided that the application form is complete and all required supporting documents and fees are properly submitted.
A: Check or money order must be made payable to the Delaware Office of Radiation Control (cash will not be accepted). Incomplete applications and applications containing cash will be returned. Credit card payment is not available.
A: A renewal application can be obtained on our web site. You can download and print form R-16B Renewal for Radiography Certificate located on the right hand side of the web page, under the Applications and Forms heading. Read and follow the instructions carefully and mail the completed application with the required application fee of $50.00 made payable to the Delaware Office of Radiation Control to the address located on the application form. Individuals who hold a national credential (ARRT, NMTCB, CCI, DANB/CDA) must also include a photocopy of their membership card in good standing with their application form and check. Incomplete applications will be returned. The certification renewal application must be received by the Office of Radiation Control approximately 30 days before a certification expires in order for renewal to be processed in a timely manner.
A: Name or address information can be updated using form R16-A, Change of Name/Address for Radiography Certificate found on our web page. You can download and print form R-16A located on the right hand side of the web page under the Applications and Forms heading. Read and follow the instructions carefully and mail the completed application to the address on the application form. In order to maintain your certification, you are required to notify this office immediately of any name or address changes. Failure to do so may jeopardize your certification standing. If requesting name change to your certificate, proof is required, (photo copy of marriage license, judgment of divorce, or court papers), and upon determination that your application is complete, a certificate reflecting the documented name change will be mailed to you.
A: A Verification of Licensure form for individual(s) holding Radiation Technologist/Technician certification is accessible on the Office of Radiation Control webpage. In addition, a searchable PDF file is posted on our webpage along with instructions on how to use the PDF, which is refreshed every two weeks. There are 2 categories that apply:
A: Individuals who have applied and been determined eligible to sit for AN ARRT or NMTCB National Credential Exam may be issued a single, temporary certificate effective for 90 days. Individuals must submit an application with a photocopy of their ARRT or NMTCB exam reservation or status report. Only one Temporary Certificate will be issued. The Temporary Certificate grants the same rights as the credential for which the applicant is awaiting examination, and expires in 90 days, to allow sufficient time for the applicant to take and pass their national credential examination. The applicant must submit a separate application after they have passed their exam, in order to obtain a permanent certificate.
A: No. An applicant must meet the national credentialing body requirements or pass a state exam to become certified as a Radiation Technologist or Technician.
A: An active license allows an individual to practice legally in Delaware. An individual whose license has expired cannot legally operate x-ray equipment, but the regulations allow 180 days after the expiration date to renew the certificate. Once terminated, the original certificate number is retired, and the individual is required to submit a new application.
A: No. Continuing education is not a requirement for renewal of a Delaware license. However, Delaware requires submittal of photocopy of a national credential in good standing for renewal of Medical Radiologic Technologist, Radiation Therapist, Nuclear Medicine Technologist, Cardiovascular Radiation Technologist and DANB CDA-credentialed Dental Assistants. Continuing education is required by most national credentialing boards, to maintain the credential in good standing.
A: Yes. Individuals convicted of a felony within the past 10 years may apply, but must disclose this information on the application form and submit documentation describing the circumstances and how the felony conviction was resolved.
A: Yes. If an employer knowingly employs an individual to operate x-ray equipment when the individual does not have a current, active Delaware Radiation Technologist or Technician certificate, a Notice of Violation will be issued to the facility owner, and an administrative penalty can be imposed in an amount not to exceed $500.00 for a first offense and an amount not to exceed $750.00 for a subsequent offense.
A: Enter the key words "Delaware Office of Radiation Control" into an internet search engine (eg. Google), then click on the link labeled "Office of Radiation Control."
A: Applicants who do not possess a social security number may submit a notarized affidavit with their application for radiation technologist/technician certification. Either a social security number, OR this affidavit must be provided in order for the application to be deemed complete.Duty to Report Information
A: Section 1731A of the Medical Practice Act requires the following persons and organizations to make such reports to the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline:
Such reports should be filed in writing with the Executive Director, Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline, within 30 days from becoming aware of such information.
A: Complaints can be filed with the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline in accordance with 24 Del. C., § 1733. Specifically,
they must be in writing, signed and include an address and phone number for the complainant. They must also include the name and location
of the professional who is the subject of your complaint and sufficient facts giving the details of your complaint. For convenience, you
may view the investigative process and download a complaint form.
Mail complaints to the attention of:
Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline Division of Professional Regulation Cannon Building, Suite 203 861 Silver Lake Boulevard Dover, DE 19904-2467 (302) 739-2711 fax
A: It is very important that you watch for unusual conduct or warning signs such as:
A: A person who files a complaint with the Board, or provides information to the Board regarding a complaint, or who testifies as a witness at a hearing before the Board concerning unprofessional conduct may not be held liable in any cause of action arising out of the filing of the complaint, the providing of information, or the giving of testimony, provided that the person does so in good faith and without gross or negligence per Delaware Code Title 24, section 1731e.
A: Upon receiving a report, the Board will investigate any evidence which appears to show that the person reported is or may be guilty of unprofessional conduct or may be unable to practice medicine with reasonable skill or safety to patients. If a person whom a certificate to practice medicine is issued is found to be in violation, the Board may decide to apply disciplinary actions for unprofessional conduct, by means of levying a fine, or by the restriction, suspension or revocation, either permanent or temporary, of that person's certificate to practice medicine, or by other appropriate action. The Board will permanently revoke the certificate to practice medicine in the state of Delaware who is convicted of a felony sexual offense in accordance with Delaware Code Title 24, Section 1731A (c).