Division of Developmental Disabilities Services Announces Data Breach; Call Center: 1-833-875-0644 (9 am - 9 pm Mon-Fri) Learn More
Current Suspected Overdose Deaths in Delaware for 2023: Get Help Now!
The mission of the Plumbing Permit and Inspection Program is to carry out and enforce the Delaware Plumbing Code consistent with basic plumbing principles, regulatory requirements, and Title 16 chapter 79 of Delaware Code.
The program accomplishes its mission by providing for the adoption and promulgation of suitable rules and regulations for the construction of plumbing facilities where mandated. The program provides a mechanism for the issuance of permits to Delaware licensed plumbers and homeowners whenever plumbing takes place, enforces plumbing codes and regulations, and issues penalties when appropriate.
New Plumbing Inspection Procedures
Plumbing permit holders may now e-mail plumbing inspection requests. Please provide:
Inspections in Kent County can be e-mailed to:
Inspections in Sussex County can be e-mailed to:
The Plumbing Permit and Inspection Program utilizes the 2021 International Plumbing Code with Delaware specific amendments. The amendments are available at the Kent and Sussex County permit offices or at this link: Delaware Amendments.
The 2021 International Plumbing Code is available to purchase at ICC.
Permits and plumbing program staff consultations are available at both program locations.
This program inspects and permits plumbing installations statewide except where there are local jurisdictions. Plumbers and homeowners working on plumbing projects in jurisdictions with their own plumbing programs should contact the appropriate local office or county office regarding permit information. All Delaware jurisdictions shall enforce the Delaware Plumbing Code as adopted and amended by the Delaware Division of Public Health.
Permit applications are available in the links on the right side of this page.
Permits are issued to Delaware licensed plumbers or homeowners whose homes are owner occupied and not for sale or lease.
Plumbing permit applications must be filled out completely using the most current form. Incomplete or outdated applications will be returned. It may take up to 48 hours to process a permit application.
Commercial installations require plan submission, occupancy type, and occupant load to determine required fixtures. Send commercial plan review applications to the Office of Engineering in Dover (see application for address). Apartments and condominiums must have one permit for each individual unit. A copy of the Approval to Construct (ATC) must be attached to the Commercial Plumbing Application at the time of submittal. If the ATC does not accompany the application, the application will be deemed incomplete and returned.
The Division of Public Health charges a $100 fee for plumbing permits. All permit fees are payable by check or money order only. Make payments to the State of Delaware. The Plumbing Permit and Inspection Program fees are used to provide program staff and infrastructure to protect public health.
Obtain permits from the Plumbing Permit and Inspection Program office in Kent or Sussex county, depending on project location. Licensed plumbers and homeowners may apply for permits in person at the Plumbing Permit and Inspection Program office.
The Delaware Public Health Plumbing Permit and Inspection Program utilizes the 2021 International Plumbing Code as Delaware's plumbing code along with Delaware specific amendments at this link: Amendments
The 2021 International Plumbing Code is available for purchase from the IPC at their web site or by phone - 1-888-422-7233.
Licensed plumbers and DIY homeowners must have an approved permit prior to starting work and to receive an inspection. An inspection may not be requested within the first 24 hours of permit issuance.
All plumbing installations must be ready when called in with provisions for the plumbing inspector to access the property. When requesting an inspection, the permit number, type of inspection (Underground, Rough-in, or Final), and plumber's name are required.
Each permit is allowed 3 inspections, including improper work, incomplete work, and inaccessible installations. Subsequent re-inspections are charged a $50.00 reinspection fee for service by the Delaware Division of Public Health. The Division of Public Health has 3 working days to respond to an inspection request. Program staff do not schedule specific times for inspections. Special arrangements may be made on a case by case basis. Contact a plumbing inspector prior to the inspection if you need to make special arrangements, (302)744-1220.
Plumbing must be visible to pass inspection. The property will not be able to obtain a certificate of occupancy without passing the plumbing inspection.
All plumbing must have their tests on at the time of inspection or the plumber must certify the plumbing was tested on the test form on the right side of this page.
A plumbing permit provides for three inspections. Additional inspections are $50.00 each. Inspections called in on work not completed, not properly installed, or on an inaccessible property will require re-inspection. It is the permit holder's responsibility to request the reinspection and make provisions for the plumbing inspector to access the property.
Inspection Requests (e-mail preferred):
The Delaware Division of Public Health Plumbing Permit and Inspection Program has offices in Kent and Sussex Counties.
Applications and Forms
Application - Contractor
Commercial Plan Review
Release of Plumbing Permit Authorization Form
Please note: Some of the files available on this page are in Adobe PDF format which requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. A free copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader can be downloaded directly from Adobe . If you are using an assistive technology unable to read Adobe PDF, please either view the corresponding text only version (if available) or visit Adobe's Accessibility Tools page.