The DPH Bulletin

From the Delaware Division of Public Health

DPH announces human rabies death

On August 27, 2018, the Division of Public Health (DPH) announced that a Kent County woman had died from rabies, the state's second death due to the infectious disease since 1941.



To prevent rabies, avoid touching unfamiliar animals and vaccinate pets (dogs, cats and ferrets over the age of 6 months as required by state law). Consult with a veterinarian regarding vaccination of livestock and horses.

Anyone who has been bitten, scratched by, or come in close contact with a stray, wild, or unfamiliar animal should immediately contact their health care provider or call the DPH Rabies Program at 302-744-4995 (during business hours) or 1-888-295-5156 (outside of business hours). An epidemiologist is available 24/7.

To report a sick or hurt wild animal, call the Delaware Department of Natural Resource and Environmental Control's Wildlife Section at 302-735-3600 or 302-739-9912.

DMV offers Medical Indicator option

Delaware drivers and photo identification cardholders can voluntarily have medical conditions displayed on their cards, the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) announced in August.

Delawareans who want a Medical Indicator added must complete and sign a form indicating their condition, which gives the DMV permission to list the condition on the back of the card and the medical indicator symbol on the front. The cardholder does not have to go through their doctor to request a Medical Indicator on their card.

"The Delaware Trauma System

operates under the saying, 'Getting the right patient to the right facility in the right amount of time,' said DPH Director Dr. Karyl T. Rattay. "This valuable tool will assist our first responders when providing care in the field during a medical emergency."

First responders who see the Medical Indicator can quickly tailor their emergency care to the person encountering a medical emergency, especially if they are unconscious or otherwise unable to communicate.



DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES



It's time to get your annual flu vaccination

To be protected against the flu, DPH advises Delawareans age 6 months and older to get their flu shots soon, preferably by the end of October.

DPH is holding two large flu clinics that offer **FREE** flu vaccines. They are for anyone age 9 years and up, and will be held rain or shine, on these dates:

<u>New Castle County:</u> Oct. 5, 2018, 10:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. outside the Porter State Service Center, 509 W. 8th St., Wilmington, Delaware.

<u>Kent County:</u> Oct. 9, 2018, 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. in front of the Delaware Department of Transportation's Administration Building, 800 S. Bay Road, Dover, Delaware. It is a drivethru flu clinic with a walk-up option.

To find other flu clinics in Delaware, visit <u>flu.delaware.gov</u> or call 1-800-282-8672.

September is National Preparedness Month

National Preparedness Month, celebrated in September, reminds us to be prepared for natural or man-made emergencies. Follow these steps:

- Create a household preparedness kit, or refresh an existing one. Recycle old backpacks to use in case of an evacuation. Find supply checklists at <u>www.ready.gov/build-a-kit</u> and <u>www.preparede.org/</u>.
- Know evacuation routes.
- Review insurance policies, and purchase flood insurance in high-risk areas.
- Inventory your belongings with a list and photos or video.
- Clear gutters and drainage areas, repair roofs, and trim branches.
- Share emergency contact numbers with family members.

Help family and friends with access and functional needs plan with the Preparedness Buddy brochure at

https://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/php/p reparednessbuddy.html