DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES COMPLETE FORM ONLINE,
— . PRINT AND MAIL TO OUR

Division of Public Health OFFICE

Office of Radiation Control

APPLICATION FOR RADIOGRAPHY CERTIFICATE
NATIONAL CREDENTIAL OR EXAMINATION

Complete and return this 2 page application form with a non-refundable/non-transferable application fee of $50.00
toward obtaining each radiography certificate. Make check or money order payable to the Delaware Office of
Radiation Control, and mail with application to the following address. Neither cash nor credit card can be accepted. Incomplete
applications will be returned. Allow a minimum of three (3) weeks for processing.

Delaware Office of Radiation Control
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901

(PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY)

NAME PHONE
ADDRESS|

CITYJ | STATE: | | ZIP|

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER | DATE OF BIRTH:

| APPLYING FOR DELAWARE RADIOGRAPHY CERTIFICATE TO PRACTICE: |

APPLICATION FEE: $50.00 check or money order made payable to the Delaware Office of Radiation Control, for each
certificate type requested.

PRIMARY CERTIFICATION ONLY:

D MEDICAL RADIOGRAPHY — ARRT (R) D DENTAL DANB (CDA®) g CARDIOVASCULAR—(CCI)
NUCLEAR MEDICINE (NMTCB/ARRT) Dl RADIATION THERAPY (ARRT)

DUAL CERTIFICATION ONLY
COMPUTED TOMOGRAPHY (CT) (POST-PRIMARY) I:l BONE DENSITOMETRY (POST-PRIMARY)

PROOF IS REQUIRED FOR EACH CREDENTIAL

I hold national credential(s) from D ARRT g CCl I:l NMTCB I:l DANB CDA® or RHS
(Check all that apply)

CARD NUMBER: | | | certify that | am enrolled at a technical vocational high school in Delaware, and
request the application fee be waived. | have enclosed a letter from my Dental
Assisting Program Director:

PHOTOCOPY ENCLOSED MEMBERSHIP CARD

OR,

I am scheduled to take an approved national credentialing board examination on | | (date).
PHOTOCOPY ENCLOSED: J:'_ Exam reservation D_ Processing Status Report  (Check one)

Have you been convicted of a felony within the past ten years? YES I I NO I | If yes, attach a copy of court
documents which include charges, and disposition papers.

| certify that | have read and understand my mandatory obligation to report in writing to the Board of Medical Licensure and
Discipline any instance of unprofessional conduct and/or unsafe practice conditions by a medical practitioner within 30 days of
becoming aware of such conduct/conditions and to immediately make an oral report to the Department of Services for Children,
Youth and Their Families knowledge or suspicion of child abuse or neglect: Yes D NO

| certify that the information provided is true to the best of my knowledge. | have included $50.00 in check or money order made
payable to the Delaware Office of Radiation Control FEOR EACH CERTIFICATE REQUESTED: YESC=—1 NO

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE DATE

DELAWARE DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH ¢ OFFICE OF RADIATION CONTROL
ORC-R16N 417 FEDERAL STREET+ DOVER ¢ DELAWARE ¢ 19901 Page 1 of 8
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DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Public Health
Office of Radiation Control

APPLICATION FOR RADIOGRAPHY CERTIFICATE
NATIONAL CREDENTIAL OR EXAMINATION

Delaware Office of Radiation Control
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE LEGIBLY

NAME: PHONE:|

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: DATE OF BIRTH: |

SELECT CERTIFICATE TYPE REQUESTED
Radiation Technologist certificates are issued with the following legal titles. Each legal title listed is followed by the
corresponding credentialing organization. On page 1, check off each category for which you hold a national
credential, and are requesting a certificate be issued by Delaware.

Cardiovascular Radiologic Technologist (CCI)

Dental Assistant (DANB - CDA®)

Medical Radiologic Technologist (ARRT R)

Nuclear Medicine Technologist (ARRT NM, or NMTCB)

Radiation Therapist (ARRT T)

ENCLOSE PHOTOCOPY OF NATIONAL CREDENTIAL

You must submit proof that you hold a national credential in good standing. OR, if you have qualified to take
the national registry examination, you may apply for certification with your exam reservation or processing status
report, and request one temporary state certificate, effective for 90 days. After passing your exam, you must take
action to submit this application again, to obtain a permanent certificate.

DUTY TO REPORT
1. To obtain alicense in Delaware, you must certify that you understand that you have a mandatory
obligation to file a written report with the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline within 30 days of becoming
aware of or having any reason to believe that a medical practitioner other than yourself is (or may be) guilty of
unprofessional conduct as defined in 24 Del. C. 81731 OR that he/she is (or may be):

medically incompetent

mentally or physically unable to engage safely in the practice of medicine

excessively using or abusing drugs including alcohol.

| certify that | have read and understand the provisions of 24Del, C. §173024Del, C, 81731and24Del, C.
81731A above, and that | understand my duty to report. Yes |:| No |:|

2. To obtain alicense in Delaware, you must certify that you understand that you have a mandatory
obligation to make an immediate oral report to the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families
if you know of, or you suspect, child abuse or neglect under Chapter 9 of Title 16 and to follow up, with any
requested written reports.

| certify that | have read and understand the provisions of 16Del. C. §903above, and that | understand my

duty to report. Yes [ ] No I |

| certify that the information provided is true to the best of my knowledge. | have included $50.00 in check or money
order made payable to the Delaware Office of Radiation Control FOR EACH CERTIFICATE REQUESTED:
YESCI NO

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE DATE
DELAWARE DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH ¢ OFFICE OF RADIATION CONTROL
417 FEDERAL STREET ¢« DOVER ¢ DELAWARE ¢ 19901
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM ORC R16-
N APPLICATION FOR RADIOGRAPHY CERTIFICATE
NATIONAL CREDENTIAL OR EXAMINATION

Item Instructions/Definitions

Name and Address Submit application with full current name and mailing
address. If your name has changed since you last held
a Delaware Certificate photocopy proof is required, e.g.
copy of marriage license, judgment of divorce, or court
papers. Applicant is obligated to notify the Office of
Radiation Control when name or address changes
utilizing ORC Form R16-A:
http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/hsp/orc.html

Social Security Number A social security number is required for purposes of
positive identification. Applicants who do not possess
a social security number may submit an official
notarized affidavit with their application for radiation
technologist/technician certification. Either a social
security number, OR the notarized affidavit must be
submitted in order for the application to be deemed
complete. See ORC webpage (link above).

Date of Birth A date of birth is required for purposes of positive
identification.

Primary State Radiation Technology Certificate | Individuals must specify:

e Cardiovascular Radiologic Technology (CCl)

e Certified Dental Assistant, DANB - CDA®

e Medical Radiologic Technologist ARRT (R)

e Nuclear Medical Technologist in ARRT (NM) or

NMTCB

e Radiation Therapist, ARRT (T)
In Delaware, one certificate is issued to individuals
holding national credentials. Scope of practice for State
certification purposes includes all diagnostic x-ray
modalities for ARRT-credentialed Medical Radiologic
Technologists ARRT (R), including Computed
Tomography (CT).

Dual Radiation Technology Certification In Delaware, an additional certificate is issued to
Nationally Credentialed Nuclear Medicine Technologists
or Radiation Therapists presenting proof of passing an
ARRT post-primary exam in Computed Tomography (CT)
or Bone Densitometry. The certificate for such
applicants is titled “Medical Radiologic Technologist CT
Only, "or" Medical Radiologic Technologist Bone
Densitometry Only.”

ORC-R16N Page 3 0of 8
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http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/hsp/orc.html

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM ORC R16-
N APPLICATION FOR RADIOGRAPHY CERTIFICATE

NATIONAL CREDENTIAL OR EXAMINATION
Felony Conviction The radiation technologist/technician regulations
specify a list of offenses that can be the basis for refusal
of an application for certification. The list includes
having been convicted of a felony. However if the
applicant has been convicted of a felony within the
past ten years, they can attach a copy of court
documents which include the original charges,
and disposition (case closed) papers for
consideration. A felony conviction does not
preclude certification in Delaware. However, the
applicant must submit the specified
documentation for review by the examining

board.
Duty to Report Since 2011, applicants applying for licensure or
Review of Delaware Code is Mandatory certification as health care workers in Delaware are

required to certify that they have read and understand
their mandatory obligation to report within 30 days of
becoming aware or having any reason to believe that a
healing arts professional may be guilty of
unprofessional conduct, of if they know of or suspect
child abuse or neglect.
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The full text of Delaware Code citations relating to Duty to Report Requirements for health care
providers is available online at:  http://delcode.delaware.gov/.

TITLE 16
Health and Safety
Regulatory Provisions Concerning Public Health

CHAPTER 9. ABUSE OF CHILDREN

Subchapter I. Reports and Investigations of Abuse and Neglect; Child Protection
Accountability Commission

§ 903. Reports required.

Any person, agency, organization or entity who knows or in good faith suspects child abuse or neglect
shall make a report in accordance with 8 904 of this title. For purposes of this section, "person™ shall
include, but shall not be limited to, any physician, any other person in the healing arts including any
person licensed to render services in medicine, osteopathy or dentistry, any intern, resident, nurse, school
employee, social worker, psychologist, medical examiner, hospital, health care institution, the Medical
Society of Delaware or law-enforcement agency. In addition to and not in lieu of reporting to the Division
of Family Services, any such person may also give oral or written notification of said knowledge or
suspicion to any police officer who is in the presence of such person for the purpose of rendering
assistance to the child in question or investigating the cause of the child's injuries or condition.

16 Del. C. 1953, § 1002; 58 Del. Laws, c. 154; 60 Del. Laws, c. 494, 8 1; 72 Del. Laws, c. 179, § 4; 77
Del. Laws, c. 320, 8 1.;

8§ 904. Nature and content of report; to whom made.

Any report of child abuse or neglect required to be made under this chapter shall be made to the
Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families. An immediate oral report shall be made
by telephone or otherwise. Reports and the contents thereof including a written report, if requested, shall
be made in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Division, or in accordance with the rules and
regulations adopted by the Division.

16 Del. C. 1953, § 1003; 58 Del. Laws, c. 154; 60 Del. Laws, c. 494, § 1; 64 Del. Laws, c. 108, 88 4, 11;
77 Del. Laws, c. 320, 8 2.;

TITLE 24
Professions and Occupations
CHAPTER 17. MEDICAL PRACTICE ACT

Subchapter 1V. Disciplinary Regulation; Proceedings of the Board

ORC-R16N Page 5 of 8
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http://delcode.delaware.gov/

§ 1730. Duty to report unprofessional conduct and inability to practice medicine [Effective Jan. 30, 2011]

(a) Every person to whom a certificate to practice medicine is issued has a duty to report to the Board if
that person is treating professionally another person who possesses a certificate to practice medicine for a
condition defined in § 1731(c) of this title, if, in the reporting person’s opinion, the person being treated
may be unable to practice medicine with reasonable skill or safety. The reporting person shall provide the
Board with a written report which includes the name and address of the person being treated, the exact
condition being treated, and the reporting person's opinion of whether or not action should be taken under
8 1731 of this title. A person reporting to the Board or testifying in any proceeding as a result of making a
report pursuant to this section is immune from claim, suit, liability, damages, or any other recourse, civil
or criminal, so long as the person acted in good faith and without gross or wanton negligence; good faith
being presumed until proven otherwise, and gross or wanton negligence required to be shown by the
complainant.

(b)(1) Every person to whom a certificate to practice medicine is issued and health care facility as
defined in § 1740 of this title has a duty to report to the Board within 30 days:

a. Any change in hospital privileges; and
b. Any disciplinary action taken by a medical society against that person; and

c. Any reasonably substantiated incidents involving violence, threat of violence, abuse, or
neglect by a person toward any other person.

(2) Every person certified to practice medicine in this State shall report to the Board within 30
days any civil or criminal investigation in any jurisdiction which concerns that person's certification or
license or other authorization to practice medicine. The Board may require an applicant to provide
sufficient documentation to enable the Board to determine whether to investigate, pursuant to 8 1732 of
this title, or whether there are grounds for discipline under § 1731(b) of this title.

(c) Every person to whom a certificate to practice medicine is issued has a duty to report to the Board,
within 60 days, all information concerning medical malpractice claims settled or adjudicated to final
judgment, as provided in Chapter 68 of Title 18, and, within 30 days, all information required to be
reported under § 1731A(f) of this title.

(d) Every person to whom a certificate to practice medicine is issued has a duty to report, within 30
days of the day each such person becomes aware, of the existence of a report to the Department of
Services for Children, Youth and Their Families under Chapter 9 of Title 16 against that person
concerning child abuse or neglect or a report to the Division of Long-Term Care Residents Protection
under Chapter 85 of Title 11 against that person concerning adult abuse, neglect, mistreatment, or
financial exploitation.

60 Del. Laws, c. 462, 8§ 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1; 71 Del. Laws, c. 102, 8§ 8, 9; 75 Del. Laws, c. 141, §
1: 77 Del. Laws, c. 320, 8 9; 77 Del. Laws, c. 325, 8 1; 77 Del. Laws, c. 460, § 2.;

§ 1731A. Duty to Report.

ORC-R16N Page 6 of 8
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(@) Any person may report to the Board information that the reporting person reasonably believes
indicates that a person certified and registered to practice medicine in this State is or may be guilty of
unprofessional conduct or may be unable to practice medicine with reasonable skill or safety to patients
by reason of mental illness or mental incompetence; physical illness, including deterioration through the
aging process or loss of motor skill; or excessive use or abuse of drugs, including alcohol. The following
have an affirmative duty to report, and must report, such information to the Board in writing within 30
days of becoming aware of the information:

(1) All persons certified to practice medicine under this chapter;
(2) All certified, registered, or licensed healthcare providers;
(3) The Medical Society of Delaware;

(4) All healthcare institutions in the State;

(5) Al state agencies other than law-enforcement agencies;

(6) All law-enforcement agencies in the State, except that such agencies are required to report
only new or pending investigations of alleged criminal conduct specified in § 1731(b)(2) of this title, and
are further required to report within 30 days of the close of a criminal investigation or the arrest of a
person licensed under this chapter.

(b) If a person certified to practice medicine in this State voluntarily resigns from the staff of a
healthcare institution, or voluntarily limits that person's own staff privileges at a healthcare institution, or
fails to reapply for hospital or staff privileges at a healthcare institution, the healthcare institution and the
person shall promptly report in writing such conduct to the Board if the conduct occurs while the person
is under formal or informal investigation by the institution or a committee thereof for any reason related
to possible unprofessional conduct or possible inability to practice medicine with reasonable skill or
safety to patients by reason of mental illness or mental incompetence; physical illness; or excessive use or
abuse of drugs, pursuant to § 1731 of this title.

(c) Upon receiving a report pursuant to subsection (a) or (b) of this section, or on its own motion, the
Board shall investigate any evidence which appears to show that the person reported is or may be guilty of
unprofessional conduct or may be unable to practice medicine with reasonable skill or safety to patients
by reason of mental illness or mental incompetence; physical illness; or excessive use or abuse of drugs,
pursuant to § 1731 of this title.

(d) When an investigation is necessary pursuant to subsection (c) of this section, the Executive
Director, with the approval of the assisting Board members who must be or must include a physician and
a public member when the investigation relates to the quality of medical care provided by a physician or
to the competency of a physician to engage safely in the practice of medicine, has the authority to inquire
from any organization which undertakes physician peer review or physician quality assurance evaluations
whether or not there has been any peer review, quality assurance, or similar process instituted involving
the physician under investigation. The Executive Director may, by subpoena, compel the production of a
list of the medical records reviewed during the peer review process, a list of the quality assurance
indicators, and/or a list of other issues which were the basis for the peer review, quality assurance, or
similar process. The lists produced must identify each item with a unique medical identifier to replace the
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11/25/2020



patient's name and specific identifying information. If necessary, after receiving the lists the Executive
Director may, by subpoena, compel the production of the relevant medical records. However, the
individual, hospital, organization, or institution shall remove the patient's name and specific identifying
information from the records prior to complying with the subpoena. If, after having reviewed the records
produced, an assisting physician Board member and an assisting public Board member consider it
necessary, the Executive Director may, by subpoena, compel the production of the patient's name. The
Board shall take reasonable steps to protect the identity of the patient in so far as such protection does not,
in the opinion of the Board, adversely affect the Board's ability to protect the public interest. An
individual, hospital, organization, or institution that furnishes information to the Board pursuant to a
subpoena issued pursuant to this subchapter with respect to any patient is not solely by reason of
furnishing the information liable in damages to any person or subject to any other recourse, civil or
criminal.

(e) The Board shall promptly acknowledge all reports received under this section. Individuals or
entities reporting under this section must be promptly informed of the Board's final disposition of the
reported matters.

(f) Malpractice insurance carriers and insured persons certified to practice medicine in this State shall
file with the Board a report of each final judgment, settlement, or award against the insured persons. A
person not covered by a malpractice insurance carrier shall also file a report with the Board. A report
required to be filed under this subsection must be made to the Board within 30 days of a final judgment,
settlement, or award.

(9) An individual, institution, agency, or organization required to report under this section who does so
in good faith is not subject to civil damages or criminal prosecution for reporting.

(h) The Executive Director shall initially review every report made to the Board under this subchapter.
The Executive Director may defer the investigation of a report pending a reported licensee's evaluation
and treatment for substance abuse or for physical or mental illness, provided sufficient safeguards exist to
protect the licensee's patients and the public. Safeguards may include a verifiable, voluntary cessation of
the practice of medicine or a limited or monitored practice. Upon completion of the reported licensee's
evaluation and treatment, the Executive Director may resume investigation of the report pursuant to the
requirements of this chapter. If the Executive Director determines that a deferral is warranted, the case
shall be summarized and placed before the Board for its information.

(i) Pursuant to the authority conferred herein and by § 1713 of this title, the Board shall have the
authority to impose a fine, not to exceed $10,000 for the first violation, and not to exceed $50,000 for any
subsequent violation, on any person, any healthcare provider, any healthcare institution, and the Medical
Society of Delaware for violation of any duty imposed by this chapter, and said fine shall be imposed
pursuant to the procedures of this chapter.

(1) Upon receiving a complaint involving potential criminal conduct, the Board shall promptly report
the complaint to appropriate law-enforcement agencies, including the Delaware Department of Justice.

67 Del. Laws, c. 159, § 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1; 71 Del. Laws, c. 102, § 15; 75 Del. Laws, c. 141, § 1;
75 Del. Laws, c. 358, § 2; 77 Del. Laws, c. 319, 88 7, 8; 77 Del. Laws, c. 321, 8§ 2; 77 Del. Laws, c. 325,
8§ 7-9.;
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