
Radiation Protection News Archives 

FDA Safety Communication: Illegal Sale of Potentially Unsafe 
Hand-held Dental X-Ray Units 
According to current Delaware Radiation Control Regulations, all hand-held x-ray units are 
prohibited for use in Delaware, whether approved by the FDA, or not. A formal variance 
approved by the Authority is required for a state-registered x-ray facility to lawfully purchase and 
use hand-held x-ray devices in the healing arts. Read more on the FDA website.  

Notice to Delaware Dental Radiation Technician Applicants 
The DANB application for Delaware Dental Radiation Technician (DDRT) exam is now available 
for download from this webpage. The DDRT state exam is administered by the Dental Assisting 
National Board (DANB) under contract to the Division of Public Health, with current exam fee of 
$87 through March 31, 2012. The exam fee for the state exam will be increased to $100, 
effective April 1, 2012 through December 31, 2012. Applicants must apply directly to DANB to 
take the state exam. After passing the exam, the applicant submits to the Office of Radiation 
Control a state application for radiography certificate (form R-16-S), photocopy of passing exam 
result letter from DANB, and application fee of $ 10.  

Change to Shield Plan Review Process for New Radiation 
Machine Facilities 
Effective September 15, 2011, Radiation Shielding Plans for new radiation machine facilities 
must be submitted to the Office of Engineering.  

Changes to Radiation Technologist/Technician Licensure 
Application Forms and Manual 
Effective January 30, 2011, the Division of Public Health, Office of Radiation Control implements 
new versions of the Delaware Radiation Technologists/Technicians Manual (pp 8-9) and 
application forms (R16-B, R16-N and R16-S) for licensure that include new “Duty to Report” 
language as mandated by state law passed in 2010, relating to training for health care 
providers, institutions and others on child sexual and physical abuse, exploitation and domestic 
violence and the mandatory reporting thereof.  

http://www.fda.gov/Radiation-EmittingProducts/RadiationSafety/AlertsandNotices/ucm291214.htm?source=govdelivery


Delaware Office of Radiation Control Announces Searchable List 
for Rad Tech Certificate Verification 
Effective August 1, 2010, mailed or faxed Verification of Licensure requests will be processed 
ONLY for individuals applying to other states or localities for recognition of their Delaware 
licensure, requiring notary public or state licensure board seal. 

Effective May 26, 2010, Radiation Technologist/Technician Certification status for individuals 
holding a Delaware certificate can be verified using this searchable pdf. The list will be updated 
bi-weekly.  

Delaware Office of Radiation Control Announces Change to 
Dental Radiological Technology Exam Procedure 
Effective April 1, 2010, instead of applying to the Division of Public Health, applicants for the 
Delaware Dental Radiological Technology Exam will apply directly to the Dental Assisting 
National Board (DANB), or by contacting DANB directly at 1-800-FOR-DANB. The application 
process to take the exam is the only change.  

Radiation Protection Professionals Recognized for Protecting 
the Public 

Read the Proclamation  

 

http://www.danb.org/main/stateacceptanceinfo.asp?Location=Delaware
http://www.danb.org/main/stateacceptanceinfo.asp?Location=Delaware
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