
 
 
 
 

Regulations Governing the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act for 
Children Between the Ages of 22 and 26 Months 

 
 Will the State develop a new lead risk exposure questionnaire to better fit the 

definition of "high risk" as stated in the regulation?  
 Yes. Once approved, the form will be posted on the State- DHSS -DPH website 

(http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/hsp/lead.html). 
 
 Will there be a standard religious exemption form that could be used by 

providers/clinics?  
 Yes. Once approved, the form will be posted on the State- DHSS -DPH website 

(http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/hsp/lead.html). 
 
 Will the language of the DE Code change in regards to the lead testing requirement 

by pre-schools, kindergartens, and day care centers?  
The Department of Education (DOE) will be changing its Physical Form to include a place 
for documenting the second lead screening and possible subsequent testing.  
 
Schools are required to ensure that children have had the initial lead test (at 12 months) or 
the child must be excluded from school. If a child registers for preschool or kindergarten 
without a lead test, he/she will be required to have a blood test done for continued school 
enrollment.   
 

 Does this new regulation supersede that of Medicaid which requires testing at 1 and 2 
years for children receiving Medicaid benefits? 

 Medicaid requires screening at both the ages of one and two years. As of 12/1/10, the 
Centers of Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) recommended that this continues. 

 
 Is universal lead testing at the age of one year still in effect? 
 Yes - testing at one year is still a universal requirement in Delaware. 
 
 Would this law apply to children that live out of State but attend school in Delaware? 

Schools are obligated by statute to require students entering pre-schools, kindergartens, 
and day care centers to show proof of a blood lead test. The law/ regulation that require lead 
screening at the ages of 22 to 26 months does not change this requirement. 

 
 Given that targeted screening at two is a mandate, are private health insurance 

companies also mandated to pay for repeat testing at 22-26 months for children 
found to be at high risk of lead poisoning? 
Lead screening is generally reimbursable by private health insurance companies.  For more 
information about whether repeat testing at 22-26 months for children found to be at high 
risk is covered please contact your health insurance provider. 


