Skip to Page Content  |  Text Only Governor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
  Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
  Phone Numbers   Mobile   Help   Size   Print   Email

Delaware Trauma System

Delaware's Division of Public Health began organizing the work on the state's inclusive Trauma System System as early as 1994. In 1996, legislation granted the Division the authority to designate Trauma Centers. Every acute care hospital in Delaware has chosen to participate in the statewide Trauma System at one of the four facility levels included in the Trauma System Regulations. These facility levels and the associated standards are all based on the American College of Surgeons - Committee on Trauma's (ACS COT) Resources for Optimal Care of the Injured Patient . ACS review teams visit each Level 1, 2 and 3 Trauma Center and report to the Division of Public Health on the facility's compliance with the Trauma Center Standards before a hospital can be designated as a Delaware Trauma Center. Reviews must be completed every 3 years in order for a hospital to retain its state Trauma Center designation status. Trauma System Participating Hospitals are reviewed every three years by an out-of-state physician consultant and DPH staff. Delaware joins only a handful of states that have succeeded in establishing inclusive statewide Trauma Systems. Three years after implementation, all Trauma Centers and Trauma System Participating Hospitals have had reverification site visits and have been redesignated by the Division of Public Health. The Trauma System Committee is now focusing on development of the System Quality Program.

For more information, please contact the program office.

Last Updated: Friday January 28 2011
site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |