DE Animal Services (DAS) case #, if applicable DDA case #

Poultry and Animal Health

Delaware Delaware Department of Agriculture (DDA)
DEPA'EIMENT £17% Report of Animal Potentially Exposed to Rabies

AGRICULTURE AN DDA phone: 302-698-4630
DDA Fax: 302-697-4492 Mailbox: Rabies.hotline@delaware.gov

Serving Agriculture and
Protecting Consumers

Owner’s name: Owner’s phone #:

Physical address where animal lives:

Mailing address (if different from above):

Animal’s name: Age: Sex: M MN F FS
Description: CAT DOG Breed: Other

Markings:

Date of injury: Describe injury (wound location, severity, puncture, scratch, etc.):

Circumstances of injury-what happened?

Rabies vaccination status: Current until or Expired on or Unknown
date date

Name of submitting agency or veterinary office:

Address:

Phone:

Examining Veterinarian or DAS Officer Signature:

Examining Veterinarian or DAS Officer Printed Name:

For currently vaccinated animals:
A. For Examining Veterinarian: Animal was given a rabies booster on (date) and
the 45-day quarantine requirements were explained to the owner.
B. For DAS Officer: Owner agrees to seek veterinary care immediately for rabies booster, and
the 45-day quarantine requirements were explained to the owner.

Owner’s Signature: Date:

For animals not current on rabies vaccination:

Owner has been informed of the ONLY TWO OPTIONS available: 6-month isolation quarantine or
euthanasia. If owner chooses quarantine, it is effective IMMEDIATELY, and instructions have been
given for compliance until details are received from the Department of Agriculture.

Owner’s Signature: Date:
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Delaware Delaware Department of Agriculture (DDA)
PEFARTMENT R 413 Report of Animal Potentially Exposed to Rabies
AGRICULTURE N DDA phone: 302-698-4630

DDA Fax: 302-697-4492

Serving Agriculture and
Protecting Consumers

QUARANTINE INSTRUCTIONS
Rabies is a fatal disease that is transmitted by a bite or contamination of an open wound or mucous
membrane with saliva containing the rabies virus. When an animal is potentially exposed to rabies
through a bite or wound, it is essential that the animal be properly quarantined to determine the health
status of the animal. Therefore, it is extremely important the following instructions be closely followed:

O Your animal was current on rabies vaccination at the time of possible exposure and must

undergo a 45-d ay quarantine.

e If your animal has not already been seen by a veterinarian for a rabies vaccine booster, please do
so immediately.
e Your animal should remain in your control or stay on your property for the next 45 days [until

(date)]. During this time period, the animal should not be allowed to come into

contact with animals other than those residing in the household. Failure to comply will result in a
fine of not less than $100 nor more than $200.

e If your animal shows marked behavior changes, escapes, sickens, or dies during the quarantine
period, you shall immediately notify your veterinarian or the Division of Public Health (302-744-

4995). Failure to comply will result in a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $200.

O Your animal was not current on rabies vaccination at the time of possible exposure and must

undergo a6-month quarantine.

You will be receiving a packet in the mail from the Delaware Department of Agriculture within the
next 7-10 days. This packet requires your immediate attention for completion of the Quarantine
Questionnaire. Detailed instructions for the isolated home quarantine option will be provided in
the packet.

e During the 6-month quarantine, your animal must remain in isolated quarantine on your property,
except to receive veterinary care. During this time period, the animal must be cared for and
handled by only one household member 18 years old or older. The animal must be confined to a
cage within a spare room, or outdoor double enclosure with protection from the elements and
which prevents escape. The animal should not have contact with any other people or animals.

Failure to comply will result in a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $200.

Authority: Delaware Code, Title 3, Chapter 82, Subchapter |
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