CNA REGISTRY & TRAINING
The Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection is responsible for the training and testing program for CNAs and for the CNA Registry.
To work as a certified nursing assistant (CNA) in a nursing home in the State of Delaware, either as facility staff or as contract/agency staff, individuals must meet the CNA requirements given in the State of Delaware law and regulations. The requirements include taking required training in an approved program and passing a test.
Individuals who are shown to be competent are placed on the CNA Registry. The certification as a CNA must be renewed every 24 months. Skilled nursing facilities and nursing facilities (intermediate care facilities) can only hire CNAs who are on Delaware's CNA Registry, in good standing.
To verify if someone is a CNA in good standing in the State of Delaware, you can check the Delaware CNA Registry. You can also call the CNA Registry at (302) 577-6666.
A facility must not employ individuals who have a negative finding entered into the State Nurse Aide Registry concerning abuse, neglect, or mistreatment of residents, or concerning misappropriation of their property.
To be hired by a nursing home or a temporary agency that provides services in a nursing home, all applicants must undergo a criminal history check and pre-employment drug testing. Failure to pass the criminal background check or to submit to the drug test will cause a person to be disqualified for employment.
Please call the Criminal Background Checks & Mandatory Drug Testing at (302) 577-7295, ext. 244 if you need more information about the criminal background check or drug testing requirements.
CNA Training Requirements and Training Program Approval
Anyone who wants to be trained to become a CNA in Delaware must enroll in a CNA training program that is approved by the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection.
CNA training programs that will be privately owned and operated must first apply for an obtain an initial certificate of approval as a private business and trade school from the State of Delaware Department of Education (DOE). Please call the DOE at (302) 857-3313 for information. ALL CNA training programs in Delaware must be approved by the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection before they begin providing training. Applicants should allow 90 days for DLTCRP to act on the request for approval.
The following gives information on CNA training programs and applying for training program approval:
- List of Approved CNA Training Programs
- Nurse Aide Training Program Application
- State CNA regulations and Federal CNA Regulations
Please call the CNA Registry at (302)577-6666 if you have any questions.
CNA Competency Test
For questions regarding test applications, test scheduling, eligibility to test, and/or arranging for special testing accommodations, call 866-664-9504 from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Monday through Friday or download the following documents:
- Information Booklet containing test applications, testing fees, and Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Accommodation Request information.
- Clinical Skills Checklist.
CNA Continuing Education
The Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection tracks continuing education units through an electronic system, the Delaware CNA Continuing Education Website CE Track. The purpose of this site is to track and record continuing education credits for Delaware CNAs. CNAs, their employers, and other training providers can access CE Track.
Continuing education is required by both state and federal law to ensure that CNA skills are kept current in order to provide quality care to the residents of facilities and to patients in the community. All facilities and agencies providing continuing education to CNAs are required to enter attendance information into CE Track.
In addition to the 64-hour work requirement within each 24 month recertification period, CNAs are also required to complete 24 hours of continuing education PRE-APPROVED by the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection, including:
- A minimum of 6 hours of dementia training
- A minimum of 2 hours of patient abuse prevention training
- The balance of required hours can be in other general health care topics, which include but are not
- Ensuring the continued competence of CNAs
- Meeting special needs of the resident or patient population
- Providing training in areas of weakness identified in a CNA's performance reviews.
CNAs will only receive continuing education credits for courses PRE-APPROVED by the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection. PRE-APPROVED online courses can be found in the CNA course catalog on the CE Track website. Credit will not be given for any class taken more than once within a 12-month period. Please call the Division with any questions at (302) 577-6666 (Wilmington) or (302) 424-8600 (Milford) regarding what courses are PRE-APPROVED. Prior to purchasing online continuing education courses, you may call the Division to learn about discounts on pre-approved online courses.Information for Training Providers
- Course material submitted for consideration cannot be greater than five years old.
- Course materials must be within the scope of duty for CNAs.
- Training providers are required by regulation to enter attendance credits for their own employees. Credit will not be given for any class taken more than once within a 12-month period.
- Any training provider that opens its courses to the public is required to enter attendance credits for attendees.
- Course material must be written by a subject matter expert.
- Course materials cannot be a photocopy of a textbook, periodical or other published material without permission by the author or publishing company, as this is a violation of federal copyright law.
- Course information submitted must include a description of the course, measurable learning objectives, agenda with timeframes for classroom instruction only, and a post-test. Classroom courses must be submitted with handouts or PowerPoint presentations for review. For self-study courses, providers must upload self-study packets for review into CE Track.
A Certified Nursing Assistant must complete 24 hours of approved continuing education and perform at least 64 hours of nursing-related services for pay in a health care setting under the supervision of a licensed nurse or physician during each 24-month certification period in order to qualify for recertification. A CNA who does not perform at least 64 hours of nursing-related services in a certification time period or fails to complete the required continuing education must complete and pass a competency test.
Nursing Assistants who fail to obtain a passing score after testing three times must repeat the CNA training program before additional testing is permitted.
The Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection's contractor, Prometric, sends a renewal notification form with instructions to all CNAs 45 days prior to the expiration date of the CNA's certification. There is no fee for renewal; however, a lapsed certification can be renewed for a $25.00 fee if the request is made within 30 days of lapsing and the CNA has completed all requirements within his/her certification period.
The Division must have a CNA's current legal name and address to make sure that he/she receives the renewal information. It is the responsibility of the CNA to notify the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection of any name or address change. If there has been an address change, call the Division's CNA Registry at (302) 577-6666 to report the change. If there has been a name change, submit a copy of the legal document (marriage or civil union license or divorce decree) showing the name change. Mail the legal documentation to the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection at The Windsor Building, 24 NW Front Street, Suite 200, Milford, DE 19963.
A Certified Nursing Assistant trained and certified outside the State of Delaware cannot work in a nursing home in Delaware without a Delaware certificate. Delaware certification is required before the person begins working as a CNA, whether working directly for a nursing home or through a temporary/contract agency.
The Division will grant certification through the process of reciprocity if the following conditions are met:
- The CNA has a current certificate from the State in which he or she currently practices. CNAs from the State of Maryland must also hold a current Geriatric Nursing Assistant certificate to be eligible for reciprocity;
- The CNA must have three months of full-time experience as a CNA performing nursing-related service for pay under the supervision of a licensed nurse or physician or have completed a training program equal to at least 150 hours; and
- The CNA must be in good standing in the state or states where he/she is currently certified.
Application and Instructions for Reciprocity. You can also get a copy by calling the CNA Registry at (302) 577-6666.
Instructions include that the CNA must complete page one of the reciprocity application and mail that page back to the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection, 3 Mill Road, Suite 308, Wilmington, DE 19806, with a copy of the CNA's photo ID and a check for $30, payable to the State of Delaware. Page two of the application must be completed by an employer verifying the required three months of full-time experience or by a training school official verifying that the CNA attended a CNA training program of at least 150 hours. Page three must be completed by the current out-of-state nurse aide registry. Pages two and three must be returned together to the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection, 3 Mill Road, Suite 308, Wilmington, DE 19806.
After the Division approves the application for reciprocity, the Division will issue the person a Delaware Nurse Aide Certificate. Individuals must allow at least 30 days for processing the application, and applicants for reciprocity cannot be employed as a CNA until the Division approves the application for reciprocity.