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DIVISION OF CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES APPLICATION 

INSTRUCTIONS 

Please  complete  the  entire  application,  attach  all  required  documents,  and  sign  before  a  Notary. 
(Notary services are provided free of charge at DCSS offices).   Complete a separate application for 
each non-custodial parent from whom you seek support. 

 
A $25.00 application fee is required (payable by check or money order) - unless you:   (1) currently 
receive  Medicaid,  Temporary  Aid  to  Needy  Families  (TANF),  General  Assistance,  Food  Stamps 
(SNAP), or Child Care Subsidy,  (2)  have previously received federally funded Foster Care services, 
Temporary Aid to Needy Families (TANF), Medicaid, or (3) the child for whom you seek support is 
enrolled in a federal Head Start program. 

 
In  addition,  the  Deficit  Reduction  Act  of  2005  §454(6)(B),  requires  DCSS  to  charge  an  annual 
processing fee of $25 for each child support case in which the applicant has never received TANF 
(formerly AFDC) benefits.   DCSS will deduct this fee from child support payments to the custodial 
party after collections of at least $500 in each federal fiscal year (Oct. 1 – Sept. 30). 

 
PROCEDURES 

DCSS  will  accept  your application  regardless  of  age,  color,  disability,  ethnicity,  gender,  nationality, 
race, religion, or sexual orientation. 

 
DCSS  will  make  every  effort  to  establish  paternity  and  child  support  orders  in  a  timely  manner 
through  the  Family  Court  of  the  State  of  Delaware.    Your cooperation in  providing  all  required 
information, as well as your involvement in this process, is required. 

 
DCSS utilizes all appropriate remedies to enforce child support orders including issuance of income 
withholding orders, interception of tax refunds, and license suspensions.  Enforcement remedies are 
automatically initiated according to case account status.  DCSS will attempt to collect arrears owed to 
the state of Delaware until paid in full. 

OFFICE LOCATIONS 

NEW CASTLE COUNTY KENT COUNTY SUSSEX COUNTY 
Churchman’s Corporate Center Blue Hen Corp. Ctr. Georgetown Office Park 
84A Christiana Road 655 S. Bay Road 20105 Office Circle 
New Castle, DE 19720 Dover, DE 19901 Georgetown, DE 19947 
  

 
Please submit your completed & notarized application to your local DCSS office. 

In New Castle County, applications should be mailed to:  P.O. Box 15012, Wilmington, DE 19850. 
 

 
 

(Edited: 07/15/2016) 

    
 



 
 

DCSS USE ONLY 

Date application requested: 

Date application mailed: 

Date application received: 

   

   

   

NONDISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION  (to protect address information): 

Is there a Protection From Abuse (PFA) order preventing the release of your address? ∆  No Yes 

If no, would the safety or liberty of you or your child(ren) be unreasonably put at risk 
by the release of your address or other identifying information? ∆  No Yes 

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS 

I understand that the verification of certain information is required in order for my case to be processed.  I have 
provided or will provide copies of the documents listed below, if they are appropriate in my case.  I understand 
that failure to provide copies of these documents will delay the processing of my case. 

I am attaching I will provide Please check one of the boxes, for each line below. 

∆ 

∆ 

∆ 

∆ 

∆ 

∆ 

Birth Certificate for each child 

Acknowledgement of Paternity Form (if applicable) 

Original  and  modified  support  orders  (including  divorce  decrees  and 
custody  orders). Orders  established  outside  of   Delaware  must be 
certified by the Court in which they were established. 

Certified payment history/arrears statement, if order is established ∆ 

∆ 

∆ 

∆ Copy of marriage/civil union license and divorce decree/annulment 

(if applicable) 

Copy of social security cards for each case member ∆ 

∆ 

∆ 

∆ 

∆ 

∆ 

∆ 

∆ 

Protective order preventing release of address (if applicable) 

Copies of applicant’s three (3) most recent:  Pay stubs  or   W-2 forms 

Copy of medical insurance card (both sides) 
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APPLICATION FOR CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES 

 

 

 

 



 
 

Name:    Social Security Number:    
(Last) (First) (Middle Initial) 

Address:     
(Street) (City) (State) (Zip Code) 

Home Phone Number:   Cell Phone Number:    

Date of Birth:   Maiden/Previous Name(s):    

Sex: ∆  M ∆  F Race:    

Employer:    Work Phone Number:    

Employer Address:   

1. What is your relationship to the non-custodial parent? 
 Never Married or Never Party to Civil Union  Currently Married or Party to Civil Union 
 Separated  Divorced   ∆ Other    

2. If Married, Date of Marriage:   _   State & County Where Married:    

If Party to Civil Union, Date of Civil Union:    State & County of Civil Union:   

State of last shared address:    

3. Date and Place of Divorce/Separation/Annulment:    

Court:    County:    State:    

4. If separated, has a private attorney started divorce proceedings and/or is court action currently 
 Yes  No pending? 

If yes, please list name, address, and phone number of the Attorney and the County and State in which 
the court action is pending: 

Attorney:   Address:   Phone:   

Court:    County:    State:    

 Yes  No 5. Do you have a court order for child support already established? 
If yes, please provide the Court, County, and State in which the order was established, along with a 
copy of the support order. 

Court:    County:    State:    

6. Have you ever received Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF-formerly AFDC), State 
 Yes  No Medical Assistance, or previously applied for Child Support Services? 

If yes, indicate type of service, County and State:    
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SECTION I:  CUSTODIAL PARTY INFORMATION 

  

 

  

  

 

  

 

 

   

  

 

 

   

   

   

   

 

 



 
 

1. Child’s Name:   
(Last) (First) (Middle) 

Sex:  ∆  M ∆  F Date of Birth:     Social Security Number:   

City & State of Conception:   City & State of Birth:    

Race: __________ Your relationship to the child:    _________ 

Were the parents married to each other or in a civil union at the time of the child’s birth?  ∆  Yes  No 
Identify the parents listed on the child’s birth certificate:   

 Yes  No Was the mother married to anyone at the time of the child’s birth? 
If yes, indicate name of husband:    

Date of Marriage/Civil Union:    County & State:    

If the parents were not married when the child was born: 
Has paternity been established for the child? 
Was genetic testing done? 
Was a “Voluntary Acknowledgement of Paternity” signed? 

∆ 
∆ 
∆ 

∆ 
∆ 
∆ 

Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

No 
No 
No 

If you answered yes to any of the above, indicate the date and in which County and State: 

 Yes ∆ Is there an existing child support order for this child? 
If yes:  Amount $    Per    

No 
Effective Date:    

Name of Court:    County & State:    
 Yes  No Are the child’s parents divorced? 

If yes, date, County and State divorce order was entered:     

2.  Child’s Name:   
(Last) (First) (Middle) 

Sex:  ∆  M ∆  F Date of Birth:     Social Security Number:   

City & State of Conception:   City & State of Birth:    

Race:  Your relationship to the child:    ____________ 

Were the parents married to each other or in a civil union at the time of the child’s birth?  ∆  Yes  No 
Identify the parents listed on the child’s birth certificate:   

 Yes  No Was the mother married to anyone at the time of the child’s birth? 
If yes, indicate name of husband:    

Date of Marriage/Civil Union:    County & State:    
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SECTION II:  CHILD(REN) 

 

  

  

 Is this child adopted? _________  
 

 

 

  

 

   

  

 

 

  

  

____________ Is this child adopted? _________  
 

 

 

  

 

This information will be kept confidential. 

This information will be kept confidential. 



 
 
If the parents were not married when the child was born: 

Has paternity been established for the child? 
Was genetic testing done? 
Was a “Voluntary Acknowledgement of Paternity” signed? 

∆ 
∆ 
∆ 

∆ 
∆ 
∆ 

Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

No 
No 
No 

If you answered yes to any of the above, indicate the date and in which County and State: 

 Yes ∆ Is there an existing child support order for this child? 
If yes:  Amount $    Per    

No 
Effective Date:    

Name of Court:    County & State:    
 Yes  No Are the child’s parents divorced? 

If yes, date, County and State divorce order was entered:     

3.  Child’s Name:   
(Last) (First) (Middle) 

Sex:  ∆  M ∆  F Date of Birth:     Social Security Number:   

City & State of Conception:   City & State of Birth:    

Race: ___________ Your relationship to the child: _____________ 

Were the parents married to each other or in a civil union at the time of the child’s birth?  ∆  Yes  No 
Identify the parents listed on the child’s birth certificate:   

 Yes  No Was the mother married to anyone at the time of the child’s birth? 
If yes, indicate name of husband:    

Date of Marriage/Civil Union:    County & State:    

If the parents were not married when the child was born: 
Has paternity been established for the child? 
Was genetic testing done? 
Was a “Voluntary Acknowledgement of Paternity” signed? 

∆ 
∆ 
∆ 

∆ 
∆ 
∆ 

Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

No 
No 
No 

If you answered yes to any of the above, indicate the date and in which County and State: 

 Yes ∆ Is there an existing child support order for this child? 
If yes:  Amount $    Per    

No 
Effective Date:    

Name of Court:    County & State:    
 Yes  No Are the child’s parents divorced? 

If yes, date, County and State divorce order was entered:     
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 Is this child adopted? _________  
 

 

 

  

 

   

  

 

 

This information will be kept confidential. 
 



 
 

∆  No Do you or your child(ren) currently receive Medicaid? Yes 

Do you have insurance available that covers the child(ren) for whom you are applying: ∆  No Yes 

Name of Health Insurance Company:    

Address of Insurance Company:    

Policy #:   

Health Insurance Cost $   /Monthly 

Persons Covered:    

Name of Dental Insurance Company:    

Address of Dental Insurance Company:    

Policy #:   

Dental Insurance Cost $  /Monthly 

Persons Covered:    

When a support order is entered or modified, DCSS must seek to ensure that one or both of the parents is 
responsible for providing health insurance (whether or not it is currently available) for the child(ren).   Medical 
support will only be enforced against the parent responsible for the coverage if health insurance is determined 
to be available at a reasonable cost. 
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SECTION III:  MEDICAL SUPPORT 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 
 

Name:    Social Security Number:    
(Last) (First) (Middle) 

Address:     
(Street) 

This address is:  ∆ Current 
(City) (State) (Zip Code) 

 Last known as of    

Home Phone Number:   Cell Phone Number:    

Date of Birth:   City/State of birth:    

Race:     Sex:  ∆  M   ∆  F Previous/Alias Name(s):    

Eye Color:    Hair Color:   Height:    Weight:    

Employer:   Employer Phone Number:    

Employer Address:   
This employer is:  ∆ Current  Last known as of    

 Yes  No Current, or prior, military service? 
If yes, branch:   ∆ Army   ∆ Navy   ∆ Air Force   ∆ Marines   ∆ Coast Guard - from   to   

 Yes  No Has the non-custodial parent ever been in prison? 
If yes, date(s) of incarceration:    

Name of Prison:   Address:    

Does the non-custodial parent receive a pension, disability benefits, social security, or have any other source 
∆ 
∆ 

 No of income? Yes 

Unknown 
If yes, indicate source:   Amount: $  per    

∆ 
∆ 

 No Does the non-custodial parent provide health insurance for the child(ren)? Yes 
Unknown 

If yes, name of Insurance Company:    

Address of Insurance Company:    

Policy #:    
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SECTION IV:  NON-CUSTODIAL PARENT (NCP) 

  

 

 

  

  

  

    

  

 

 

  

 

  

   

 

 

 

 

 



 
 

Custodial Parent:    

Non-Custodial Parent:    

List any agency that has collected child support payments on behalf of your child(ren):    

Address:    
(Street) (City) (State) (Zip Code) 

Phone Number:   

 Yes ∆ Has the NCP ever made support payments directly to you? No 
If yes, list only those payments paid directly.  Do not list payments received by an agency and forwarded to you 
according to the terms of the order. 
 

The information below is for the YEAR:   

Certification: I hereby certify that the statements I have given in this document are true and correct. I further agree to 
notify DCSS immediately of any changes in my address, telephone number, income, expenses, or employer. 

Signature   Date   

Sworn and subscribed before me this   day of   20  . 

Notary Public Signature     Date   
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Amount Owed 

Jan     

Feb     

Mar          

Apr           

May          

Jun           

Jul            

Aug           

Sept          

Oct           

Nov           

Dec           

Total       

Balance 
 
Jan           

Feb           

Mar           

Apr           

May          

Jun           

Jul            

Aug           

Sept          

Oct           

Nov           

Dec           

Total       

Amount paid 

Jan     

Feb     

Mar          

Apr           

May          

Jun           

Jul            

Aug           

Sept          

Oct           

Nov           

Dec           

Total       

 

AFFIDAVIT OF PAYMENTS (Complete this section only if you currently have a child support order) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

  

   

  

 



 
 

By signing this document, I agree to the following: 
1. I understand that, under Family Court Civil Rule 87.2, a petition for new support will be filed in the county 

where the child[ren] and I reside.  I may submit to DCSS a written request to file in a different county.  If I 
elect to file my support petition in a county other than where the child[ren] and I reside, I agree to absorb 
all  expenses  associated  with  attending  the  hearing(s),  such  as  travel  expenses,  parking  fees,  and 
childcare costs. 

I will appear at all mediation conferences and Family Court hearings held in Delaware.   I understand that 
failure  to  appear  in  Family  Court  for  scheduled  hearings  or  mediations  may  result  in  dismissal  of  the 
petition and/or sanctions that could affect the receipt of state assistance. 

I will cooperate with DCSS by providing requested documentation. 

I understand that all child support payments must pass through the DCSS State Disbursement Unit for 
proper  accounting.   I  understand  that  the  Non-Custodial  Parent  may  not  receive  credit  for  payments 
delivered to me directly, and I will report any direct payments I received to a DCSS worker. 

I understand that DCSS will utilize all available resources to recoup or recover payments sent to me in 
error, including but not limited to, withholding future child support payments. 

I  understand  that  I  am  required  to  notify   DCSS  in  writing  within  five  (5)  days  of  any  of  the  following 
events: 

2. 

3. 

4. 

5. 

6. 

• 
• 
• 
• 

If I retain the services of a private attorney. 
If I have a change in name. 
If I move or change my address. 
If the custody of the child[ren] changes and I am no longer the primary custodian. 

7. I agree to have DCSS act on my behalf to enter into negotiations with the Non-Custodial Parent or his/her 
attorney to settle any child support claims I may have.  I further request DCSS to file any necessary legal 
documents  against  the  Non-Custodial  Parent.   Under  Delaware  law,  a  Deputy  Attorney  General  who 
handles my case is deemed to represent the state agency, DCSS, and not me individually. 

I will comply with DCSS requirements and administrative enforcements to effectively process my case 
These services are available to me under the Child Support Enforcement Program: 

8. 

• 
• 
• 

Locate parent(s) responsible to provide support 
Enforce support order 
Modify existing order 

 
 
 

Establish paternity 
Establish medical (health insurance) order 
Establish child support order 

Services  will  be  implemented in  accordance  with  my  case  status.  I  can  stop  services  (unless  I  am 
currently  receiving  TANF,  Medicaid,  and/or  Purchase  of  Care  assistance,  or  if  there  are  child  support 
arrears owed to the state of Delaware) by notifying DCSS in writing. 

Notice Regarding Use of Social Security Numbers (SSN): Federal child support mandates [42 USC 
§666(a)(13)]  require  the  collection  of  SSNs  for  all  individuals  involved  in  paternity  and  child  support 
orders.   SSNs  are  used  under  the  state’s  child  support  enforcement  program  to  locate  individuals  for 
purposes of establishing paternity and establishing, modifying and enforcing support obligations. 

9. 

Signature of Applicant Date 

Sworn and subscribed before me this   day of   20  . 

Notary Public Signature     Date   
Copy to Custodial Party. 
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CERTIFICATION BY CUSTODIAN 

 

  

   

  

 


	◻ No
	◻ No
	◻ Yes
	◻ Yes
	◻ Yes
	◻ No
	◻ Yes
	◻ Yes
	◻ Yes
	◻ No
	◻ Yes
	◻ Yes
	◻ Yes
	◻ No
	◻ Yes
	◻ Yes
	◻ Yes
	◻ No
	◻ No
	◻ Yes
	◻ Yes
	◻ No
	◻ No
	◻ Yes

