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 DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Child Support Services

DIVISION OF CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES

APPLICATION

INSTRUCTIONS

Please complete the entire application, attach all required documents, and sign before a Notary. (Notary services are provided free of

charge at DCSS offices.) Complete a Separate application for each non-custodial parent from whom you seek support.

A $25 application fee is required - payable by check or money order - unless:

 (1) You currently receive Medicaid, Temporary Aid to Needy Families (TANF) General Assistance, Food Stamps (SNAP), or
Child Care Subsidy,

 (2) You previously received federally funded Foster Care Services, Temporary Aid to Needy Families (TANF), Medicaid, or
 (3) The child for whom you seek support is enrolled in a federal Head Start program.

In addition, the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 §454(6)(B) and the Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018 requires DCSS to charge an annual

processing fee of $35 for each child support case in which the applicant has never received TANF assistance. DCSS will deduct this fee

from child support payments to the custodial party after collections of at least $550 in each federal fiscal year (Oct. 1 - Sept. 30).

PROCEDURES

DCSS will accept your application regardless of age, color, disability, ethnicity, gender, nationality, race, religion, or sexual orientation.

DCSS will make every effort to establish paternity and child support orders in a timely manner through the Family Court of the State of

Delaware. Your cooperation in providing all required information, as well as your involvement in this process, is required.

DCSS utilizes all appropriate remedies to enforce child support orders including issuance of income withholding orders, interception

of tax refunds, and license suspensions. Enforcement remedies are automatically initiated according to case account status, DCSS will

attempt to collect arrears owed to the State of Delaware until paid in full.

OFFICE LOCATIONS

NEW CASTLE COUNTY
Churchman's Corporate Center
84-A Christiana Rd.
New Castle, DE 19720
(302) 577-7171

KENT COUNTY
905 S. Governors Ave., 2nd Floor
Dover, DE 19904
(302) 739-8299

SUSSEX COUNTY
20105 Office Circle
Georgetown Professional Park 
Georgetown, DE 19947
(302) 856-5386

Please submit your completed & notarized application to your local DCSS office.
In New Castle County, applications should be mailed to: P.O. Box 15012, Wilmington, DE 19850.

WEBSITE
http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dcss

(Edited: 02/06/2017)
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 DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Child Support Services

APPLICATION FOR CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES

DCSS USE ONLY  
 

Date application requested:  
 

Date application mailed:
 

Date application received: 

NONDISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION (to protect address information):

Is there a Protection From Abuse (PFA) order preventing the release of your address?      Yes      No

If no, would the safety or liberty of you or your child(ren) be unreasonably put at risk by the release of your

address or other identifying information?      Yes      No

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS

I understand that the verification of certain information is required in order for my case to be processed. I have provided or will provide copies of the

documents listed below, if they are appropriate in my case. I understand that failure to provide copies of these documents will delay the processing

of my case.

I am attaching I will Provide Please check one of the boxes, for each line below.

        Birth certificate for each child

        Acknowledgement of Paternity Form (if applicable)

        Original and modified support orders including divorce decrees and custody orders. Orders
established outside of Delaware must be certified by the Court in which they were established.

        Certified payment history/arrears statement, if order is established

        Copy of marriage/civil union license and divorce decree/annulment (if applicable)

        Copy of social security cards for each case member

        Protective order preventing release of address (if applicable)

        Copies of applicant's three (3) most recent: Pay stubs or W-2 forms

        Copy of medical insurance card (both sides)
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 DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Child Support Services

SECTION I: CUSTODIAL PARTY INFORMATION

Name: Social Security Number: 
(Last) (First) (Middle Initial)

Address: 
(Street) (City) (State) (Zip Code)

Home Phone Number: Cell Phone Number: 

Email Address: 

Date of Birth: Maiden/Previous Name(s): 

Race:     Sex:       male       female

Employer: Work Phone Number: 

Employer Address: 
 

1.
What is your relationship to the non-custodial parent?

      Never Married or Never Party to Civil Union       Currently Married or Party to Civil Union

      Separated       Divorced       Other

2. If Married/Party to Civil Union, Date: State County of Marriage/Civil Union:

State of last shared address: 

3. Date and Place of Divorce/Separation/Annulment:

Court: County: State: 

4. If separated, has a private attorney started divorce proceedings and/or is court action currently pending?
      Yes      No
If yes, list Attorney's name, phone number, address, the County and State in which the court action is pending:
Attorney: Phone: 

Address:

 

Court: County: State: 

5. Do you have a court order for child support already established?      Yes      No
If yes, provide the Court, County and State in which the order was established, with a copy of the support order.
Court: County: State: 

6. Have you ever received Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF-formerly AFDC), State
Medical Assistance, or previously applied for Child Support Services?      Yes      No

 If yes, indicate type of service, County and State:   
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 DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
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SECTION II: CHILD(REN)
1. Child's Name:

(Last) (First) (Middle)

Date of Birth: Social Security Number:   Sex:        M       F

City & State of Conception: City & State of Birth: 

Race:  Your relationship to the child: Is this child adopted?       Yes      No

Is the father's name on the child's birth certificate?      Yes      No

Was the mother married or in a civil union at the time of the child's birth, or within 300 days prior to the child's birth?

If yes, indicate name of husband/partner:      Yes      No

Date of Marriage/Civil Union: County & State:  Please provide a copy of the marriage certificate.

Is there a court order that states the husband is not the father of the child?      Yes      No

If yes, please provide a copy of that order. 

Are the child's parents divorced?      Yes      No

Date of Divorce:   County & State:   Please provide a copy of the divorce certificate.

If the parents were not married when the child was born:

Has paternity been established for the child by a court order for custody, adoption, visitation, paternity,

or child support? If yes, please circle type of court order.      Yes      No

Was genetic testing done?      Yes      No

Was a "Voluntary Acknowledgement of Paternity" signed?      Yes      No

If you answered yes to any of the above, please provide a copy of the document.

If paternity has not been established, during the first two years of the child's life, did any man continuously live

with the child and represent the child as his own?      Yes      No

Is there an existing child support order for this child?      Yes      No

If yes: Amount $ Per Effective Date: 

 Name of Court:  County & State: 

2. Child's Name: 
(Last) (First) (Middle)

Date of Birth: Social Security Number:   Sex:        M       F

City & State of Conception:  City & State of Birth: 

Race:  Your relationship to the child: Is this child adopted?       Yes      No

Is the father's name on the child's birth certificate?      Yes      No
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 DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
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SECTION II: CHILD(REN) - cont'd

Was the mother married or in a civil union at the time of the child's birth, or within 300 days prior to the child's birth?

If yes, indicate name of husband/partner:      Yes      No

Date of Marriage/Civil Union: County & State: Please provide a copy of the marriage certificate.

Is there a court order that states the husband is not the father of the child?      Yes      No

If yes, please provide a copy of that order. 

Are the child's parents divorced?      Yes      No

Date of Divorce:  County & State:  Please provide a copy of the divorce certificate.

If the parents were not married when the child was born:

Has paternity been established for the child by a court order for custody, adoption, visitation, paternity,

or child support? If yes, please circle type of court order.      Yes      No

Was genetic testing done?      Yes      No

Was a "Voluntary Acknowledgement of Paternity" signed?      Yes      No

If you answered yes to any of the above, please provide a copy of the document.

If paternity has not been established, during the first two years of the child's life, did any man continuously live

with the child and represent the child as his own?      Yes      No

Is there an existing child support order for this child?      Yes      No

If yes: Amount $ Per Effective Date: 

Name of Court:  County & State: 

3. Child's Name: 
(Last) (First) (Middle)

Date of Birth: Social Security Number:   Sex:        M       F

City & State of Conception:  City & State of Birth: 

Race:  Your relationship to the child: Is this child adopted?       Yes      No

Is the father's name on the child's birth certificate?      Yes      No

Was the mother married or in a civil union at the time of the child's birth, or within 300 days prior to the child's birth?

If yes, indicate name of husband/partner:      Yes      No

Date of Marriage/Civil Union: County & State: Please provide a copy of the marriage certificate.

Is there a court order that states the husband is not the father of the child?      Yes      No

If yes, please provide a copy of that order. 

Are the child's parents divorced?      Yes      No

Date of Divorce:  County & State:  Please provide a copy of the divorce certificate.
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 DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
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SECTION II: CHILD(REN) - cont'd
If the parents were not married when the child was born:

Has paternity been established for the child by a court order for custody, adoption, visitation, paternity,

or child support? If yes, please circle type of court order.      Yes      No
Was genetic testing done?      Yes      No
Was a "Voluntary Acknowledgement of Paternity" signed?      Yes      No

If you answered yes to any of the above, please provide a copy of the document.
If paternity has not been established, during the first two years of the child's life, did any man continuously live
with the child and represent the child as his own?      Yes      No

Is there an existing child support order for this child?      Yes      No

If yes: Amount $ Per Effective Date: 

Name of Court:  County & State: 

SECTION III: MEDICAL SUPPORT
Do you or your child(ren) currently receive Medicaid?      Yes      No

Do you have insurance available that covers the child(ren) for whom you are applying:      Yes      No

If yes, please provide further details below.
 

Health Insurance Company: 

Address of Health Insurance Company: 
 

Policy#: Health Insurance Cost $ /Monthly

Person(s) Covered: 
  

Dental Insurance Company: 

Address of Dental Insurance Company: 
 

Policy#: Dental Insurance Cost $ /Monthly

Person(s) Covered: 

When a support order is entered or modified, DCSS must seek to ensure that one, or both of the parents, is responsible for providing health insurance

(whether or not it is currently available) for the child(ren). Medical support will only be enforced against the parent responsible for the coverage if

health insurance is determined to be available at a reasonable cost.
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SECTION IV: NON-CUSTODIAL PARENT (NCP)

Name:  Social Security Number:
(Last) (First) (Middle)

Address: 
(Street) (City) (State) (Zip Code)

This address is:      Current      Last Known as of

Home Phone Number: Cell Phone Number: 

Email Address: 

Date of Birth: City/State of birth: 

Previous/Alias Name(s): Race:     Sex:         M       F

Eye Color: Hair Color: Height: Weight: 

Employer: Employer Phone Number: 

Employer Address: 

This employer is:      Current      Last Known as of

Current, or prior, military service?      Yes      No

If yes, branch:      Army      Navy      Air Force      Marines      Coast Guard - from to

Has the non-custodial parent ever been in prison?      Yes      No

If yes, date(s) of incarceration: to

Name of
Prison: 

Address: 

Does the non-custodial parent received a pension, disability benefits, social security, or have any other source

of income?      Unknown      Yes      No

If yes, indicate source: Amount: $ Per

Does the non-custodial parent provide insurance for the child(ren)?      Unknown      Yes      No

If yes, name of Health Insurance
Company: 

Address of Insurance Company:

 

Policy Number: 

If yes, name of Dental Insurance Company:

Address of Insurance Company:

 

Policy Number: 
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AFFIDAVIT OF PAYMENTS        (Complete this section only if you currently have a child support order)

Custodial Parent: 

Non-Custodial Parent:

List any agency that has collected child support payments on behalf of your child(ren): 

 

Address: 
(Street) (City) (State) (Zip Code)

Phone Number(s):

Has the NCP ever made support payments directly to you?      Yes      No

If yes, list only those payments paid directly.

Do not list payments received by an agency and forwarded to you according to the terms of the order.

The information below is for the YEAR: 

Amount Owed Balance Amount Paid
Jan  
Feb  
Mar  
Apr  
May  
Jun  
Jul  
Aug  
Sep  
Oct  
Nov  
Dec  

Jan  
Feb  
Mar  
Apr  
May  
Jun  
Jul  
Aug  
Sep  
Oct  
Nov  
Dec  

Jan  
Feb  
Mar  
Apr  
May  
Jun  
Jul  
Aug  
Sep  
Oct  
Nov  
Dec  

Total Total Total

Certification: I hereby certify that the statements I have give in this document are true and correct. I further agree to notify DCSS immediately of any

changes in my address, telephone number, income, expenses, or employer.

Signature Date 

Sworn and subscribed before me this day of  

 Date

Notary Public Signature
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CERTIFICATION BY CUSTODIAN

By signing this document, I agree to the following:
1. I understand that, under Family Court Civil Rule 87.2, a petition for new support will be filed in the county where the child(ren) and I reside. I may

submit to DCSS a written request to file in a different county. If I elect to file my support petition in a county other than where the child(ren) and I
reside, I agree to absorb all expenses associated with attending the hearing(s), such as travel expenses, parking fees, and childcare costs.

2. I will appear at all mediation conferences and Family Court hearings held in Delaware. I understand that failure to appear in Family Court for
scheduled hearings or mediations may result in dismissal of the petition and/or sanctions that could affect the receipt of state assistance.

3. I will cooperate with DCSS by providing requested documentation.
4. I understand that all child support payments must pass through the DCSS State Disbursement Unit for proper accounting. I understand that the Non-

Custodial Parent may not receive credit for payments delivered to me directly, and I will report any direct payments I received to a DCSS worker.
5. I understand that DCSS will utilize all available resources to recoup or recover payments sent to me in error, including but not limited to, withholding

future child support payments.
6. I understand that I am required to notify DCSS in writing within five (5) days of any of the following events:

• If I retain the services of a private attorney.
• If I have a change in name.
• If I move or change my address.
• If the custody of the child(ren) changes and I am no longer the primary custodian.

7. I agree to have DCSS act on my behalf to enter into negotiations with the Non-Custodial Parent or his/her attorney to settle any child support
claims I may have. I further request DCSS to file any necessary legal documents against the Non-Custodial Parent. Under Delaware law, a Deputy
Attorney General who handles my case is deemed to represent the stage agency, DCSS, and not me individually.

8. I will comply with DCSS requirements and administrative enforcements to effectively process my case
These services are available to me under the Child Support Services Program:

• Locate parent(s) responsible to provide support.
• Enforce support order.
• Modify existing order.

• Establish paternity
• Establish medical (health insurance) order
• Establish child support order

Service will be implemented in accordance with my Case Status. I can stop services by notifying DCSS in writing. I understand that enforcement
action cannot be declined if I am receiving TANF or Medicaid benefits, or if there are child support arrears owed to the state.

9. Notice Regarding Use of Social Security Number (SSN): Federal child support mandates [42 USC §666(a)(13)] require the collection of SSNs
for all individuals involved in paternity and child support orders. SSNs are used under the state's child support services program to locate individuals
for purposes of establishing paternity and establishing, modifying and enforcing support obligations.

 
Signature of Applicant  Date

Sworn and subscribed before me this day of  

 Date

Notary Public Signature
Copy to Custodial Party.


