
 

 
 

STATE OF DELAWARE                                       
 

DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES 
DIVISION OF MEDICAID & MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

POLICY & PLANNING UNIT 

 

    ADMINISTRATIVE NOTICE A-03-2023 
 
 

TO:   All DMMA Staff 

DATE:   January 26, 2023  

PROGRAM(S):  Long Term Care  

SUBJECT:  2023 Nursing Home Private Pay Rate 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 
BACKGROUND 

Section 1917(c) of the Social Security Act stipulates that a period of ineligibility must be 
assessed when a Medicaid applicant has transferred assets for less than fair market 
value.  The average monthly cost to a private pay patient of a nursing facility is used to 
determine this period of ineligibility. 

 

Note:  This is not the average Medicaid per diem rate. 

 
 
DISCUSSION 

The daily average usual and customary nursing facility charge for a private pay patient 
is calculated annually.  This amount is then rounded up or down, based on normal 
rounding rules.  A monthly rate is obtained by multiplying the rounded daily rate by 
30.42 days.  These figures are used to calculate the period of ineligibility. 

 

Effective January 1, 2023, the daily and monthly rates are: 

 

 Average daily cost to a private pay patient 

 of a nursing facility in Delaware   $ 360.10 

 

 Average monthly cost to a private pay patient 

 of a nursing facility in Delaware   $ 10,953 

 
 
ACTION REQUIRED  
 
DMMA staff are required to use these figures when calculating a period of ineligibility for 
applications filed on or after January 1, 2023.  Policy DSSM 20350.3 and DSSM 
20350.3.1 should be reviewed. 

 

The eligibility system will be updated with these figures. 

 
 



 
 
 
 
 
 
DIRECT INQUIRIES TO      

DHSS_DMMA_PPU@delaware.gov 
 
  
       
_____________     
Date      Kimberly Xavier, Chief 
      Policy and Planning 
      Division of Medicaid & Medical Assistance  
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