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POLICY, PLANNING & QUALITY 

M E M O R A N D U M  
REPLY TO 
ATTN. OF:  Administrative Notice DMMA A-1-2021 
 
TO:   All DMMA Staff 
 
DATE:   January 14, 2021   
 
SUBJECT:  Nursing Home Private Pay Rate 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Section 1917(c) of the Social Security Act stipulates that a period of ineligibility must be assessed when a 
Medicaid applicant has transferred assets for less than fair market value.  The average monthly cost to a private 
pay patient of a nursing facility is used to determine this period of ineligibility. 
 
Note:  This is not the average Medicaid per diem rate. 
 
DISCUSSION 
 
The daily average usual and customary nursing facility charge for a private pay patient is calculated annually.  
This amount is then rounded up or down, based on normal rounding rules.  A monthly rate is obtained by 
multiplying the rounded daily rate by 30.42 days.  These figures are used to calculate the period of ineligibility. 
 
Effective January 1, 2021 the daily and monthly rates are: 
 
 Average daily cost to a private pay patient 
 of a nursing facility in Delaware   $ 346.97 
 
 Average monthly cost to a private pay patient 
 of a nursing facility in Delaware   $ 10,554.83 
 
ACTION REQUIRED  
 
DMMA staff should use these figures when calculating a period of ineligibility for applications filed on or after 
January 1, 2021.  Policy DSSM 20350.3 and DSSM 20350.3.1 should be reviewed. 
 
The eligibility sysem will be updated with these figures. 
 
DIRECT INQUIRIES TO 
 
Melissa Dohring 
(302) 255-9574 
Melissa.Dohring@delaware.gov 
 

__1/14/2021______    Kimberly Xavier     for  

DATE           Glyne Williams, Chief 
      Policy, Planning & Quality 
      Division of Medicaid & Medical Assistance      


