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POLICY NOTIFICATION STATEMENTS

General
This information is provided pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (Public Law 93-579), as
amended, for individuals supplying information for inclusion in a system of records.

Statutory Authority

Section 338B of the Public Health Service (PHS) Act (42 United States Code Section
2541-1), as amended; Section 331(i) of the PHS Act (42 United States Code Section
254d(i)), as amended.

Non-Discrimination Policy Statement

In accordance with applicable Federal laws and U.S. Department of Health and Human
Services policy, the Department does not discriminate on the basis of any non-merit
factor, including race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender
identity, disability (physical or mental), age, status as a parent, or genetic information.

Effects of Nondisclosure

Disclosure of the information sought is voluntary; however, if not submitted, except for
the replies to questions related to Race/Ethnicity, an application may be considered
incomplete and therefore may not be considered for an award under this program.

Delaware Freedom of Information Act
Pursuant to Title 29 Chapter 100 of the Delaware Code, the Delaware State Loan
Repayment Program is subject to adhere to the general regulations of this regulation:

Declaration of Policy

It is vital in a democratic society that public business be performed in an open and
public manner so that our citizens shall have the opportunity to observe the
performance of public officials and to monitor the decisions that are made by such
officials in formulating and executing public policy; and further, it is vital that citizens
have easy access to public records in order that the society remain free and democratic.
Toward these ends, and to further the accountability of government to the citizens of
this State, this chapter is adopted, and shall be construed.



http://www.dodig.mil/Resources/PolicyReferences/Privacy/pa1974.pdf
http://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=(title:42%20section:254l-1%20edition:prelim)
http://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=(title:42%20section:254l-1%20edition:prelim)
http://delcode.delaware.gov/title29/c100/

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

IMPORTANT!!

Please read the Program Guidance Manual in its entirety prior to proceeding to the
health professionals’ application. This guidance and the state loan repayment website
provide the details, eligibility criteria and qualifying regulations that govern Delaware’s
program. Applicants must have a complete understanding of their commitment to serve
as a State Loan Repayment Program (SLRP) recipient within an approved practice site
in a health professional shortage area.

Introduction

Since 2001, the Delaware Health Care Commission (HCC) has acted as the lead
agency for the Loan Repayment Program for the State of Delaware. However, the
SLRP program is a comprehensive statewide effort jointly administered by the HCC and
the Division of Public Health (DPH). More recently, the Division of Substance Abuse
and Mental Health (DSAMH) was added as a key collaborative partner as part of a
broader mental health focus and in concert with the State’s health care innovation
planning initiative.

The Division of Public Health, Bureau of Health Planning and Resource Management
(BHPRM) is the agency responsible for the collection of valid, up-to-date data on the
health professional workforce, and for the applications to Health Resources Service
Administration (HRSA) for Health Professional Shortage Area designations (HPSAS).

Two advisory boards-- the Delaware Institute of Medical Education and Research
(DIMER) and the Delaware Institute of Dental Education and Research (DIDER)--
provide professional expertise and oversight for the policies and procedures governing
the execution of the statewide SLRP program. The boards receive quarterly status
updates on program progress and operations. The DIMER Board provides
opportunities for Delaware residents to obtain a high-quality medical education through
continued and attested relationships with Sidney Kimmel Medical College (formerly
Jefferson Medical College) and Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (PCOM)
(both in Philadelphia) reserving admission slots for Delaware residents. The DIDER
was placed under the administration of the HCC in 2001 and given greater ability to
function in a manner that serves its broader public purposes, function in concert with
DIMER, and address more expansive state health care policy (e.g. integration of oral
health into primary health practices). DIDER sustains relationships with Temple
University Kornberg School of Dentistry ensuring opportunities for dental education for
Delaware residents. DIMER and DIDER have been key partners in the state that
assists with the creation of medical and dental opportunities to fill demonstrated needs,
recruit candidates to undergo education and training and connect graduates with
employers throughout the state.

The Health Care Commission is the recipient of the federal State Loan Repayment
grant and has the sole responsibility of administering and reporting Delaware’s progress


http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dhcc/
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/index.html
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dsamh/
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dsamh/
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/hsm/bhprmhome.html
http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dhcc/dimer.html
http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dhcc/dider.html

and performance outcomes to HRSA. Fundamentally, the HCC is the final authority in
determining qualifying educational loans.

PROGRAM PURPOSE

To create healthier communities by recruiting and maintaining highly qualified Primary
Care, Dental, and Mental Health Care professionals in identified Health Professional
Shortage Areas (HPSAs) and make their services available to Delawareans - notably to
underserved populations.

Long Term Goals and Measures:

Increase the availability and accessibility of Primary Care, Dental and Mental
Health Services in underserved areas.

Recruit and provide incentives to invest in returning and new medical and dental
graduates and health care professionals that are increasing their education to
provide new or additional services to Delaware’s health professional shortage
areas.

Promote the awareness and importance of workforce access and development
relative to the policies and practices for the federal and state (when applicable)
SLRP program.

PRACTITIONER ELIGIBILITY

Eligibility criteria for Delaware’s State Loan Repayment Program are in accordance with
the federal HRSA State Loan Repayment Program regulations. State of Delaware
approved Practitioners must:

Be a U.S. citizen (Born or Naturalized) or U.S. National;

Have verifiable student loans which are not in default;

Have no other existing service commitment;

Must not have any other outstanding contractual obligation to provide health
professional services;

Not have been convicted of any felony, including but not limited to violent
felonies, as so defined under either Federal or State law and as more particularly
defined and enumerated in 11 Del.C.Sec.4201;

Not have been convicted or found guilty of, or disciplined by this or any other
State licensing Board or Agency authorized to issue a certificate to practice
medicine or dentistry in this or any other State, for unprofessional conduct as so
defined in 24 Del.C.Sec.1731,

Not have any federal judgment liens;

Not have a current default on court-ordered child support payments;

Be currently employed or have accepted employment at a designated Health
Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) site;

Commit to providing service full-time (40 hours per week) in a designated Health
Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) and approved by the HCC; and



http://delcode.delaware.gov/title11/c042/index.shtml
http://delcode.delaware.gov/title24/c017/sc04/index.shtml

Practitioners (also referred to as Participant) must provide services in a HPSA that
corresponds to their training and/or discipline. For example, psychiatrists and other

Accept the terms and conditions of the State of Delaware Contract
boilerplate/Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) if application is approved.

mental health providers must serve in a Mental Health HPSA.

To determine if the practice site is an eligible HPSA please visit http://hpsafind.hrsa.gov.

Practitioners must have completed training in an accredited graduate training program,
and possess an active and valid license in the State of Delaware (without restrictions or

encumbrances) to practice in one of the following eligible disciplines:

MD
DO
DDS/DMD
NP
CNM
PA
RDH
HSP
LCSW
PNS
LPC
MFT

Allopathic Medicine

Osteopathic Medicine

General and Pediatric Dentistry
Nurse Practitioner

Certified Nurse-Midwife
Physician Assistant

Registered Dental Hygienist
Health Service Psychologist (Clinical and Counseling)
Licensed Clinical Social Worker
Psychiatric Nurse Specialist
Licensed Professional Counselor
Marriage and Family Therapist

Approved Primary Care Specialties for Physicians:

Note- Physicians who have not completed residency training programs are not eligible

Family Medicine (and osteopathic general practice)
Internal Medicine

Pediatrics

Geriatrics
Psychiatry

for funding.

Approved Primary Care Specialties for Nurse Practitioners and Physician

Obstetrics/Gynecology

Assistants:

Adult

Family
Pediatrics


http://hpsafind.hrsa.gov/

e Psychiatry/Mental Health
e Geriatrics
¢ Women’s Health

Practitioners must practice full-time providing primary health services at an eligible site.
“Full-time” is defined as a minimum of 40 hours per week (not including travel or time
on-call), for a minimum 45 weeks per year. Participants who take more than 7.14
weeks of leave in a service year for any reason (vacation, sick leave, CME, etc.) fail to
meet the 45 week minimum. For a more detailed list of “Practitioner and Site
Eligibility Determination”, please refer to Appendix A — Eligibility Determination.

PRACTICE SITE ELIGIBILITY INFORMATION

In order for any practitioner to qualify for the Delaware SLRP program, the applicant and
the site must submit an application for approval by the HCC. Applications from practice
sites seeking to recruit and hire practitioners under the SLRP program are accepted on
a continuous basis by the HCC.

Site must be Public or Non-Profit

e Non-Profit private entity means an entity which may not lawfully hold or use any
part of its net earnings to the benefit of any private shareholder or individual and
which does not hold or use its net earnings for that purpose.

e For-profit health facilities operated by non-profit organizations must follow
the same guidelines as all other SLRP sites. They must accept reimbursement
from Medicare, Medicaid, and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP),
utilize a sliding fee scale, and see all patients regardless of their ability to pay.

e Must be located in a federally-designated Health Professional Shortage
Area (HPSA). To determine if the practice site is an eligible HPSA please visit
http://hpsafind.hrsa.gov.

e Must accept Medicare, Medicaid, and/or S-CHIP patients:

o All participating practitioners and sites must agree to accept
reimbursement under Medicare, Medicaid and CHIP, as appropriate for
his/her designated discipline, to utilize a sliding fee scale, and to see all
patients regardless of ability to pay;

o Dental SLRP practitioners must agree to provide preventive dental
services to a defined number of eligible clients of the Division of
Developmental Disabilities Services (DDDS) as determined by the HCC,
DDDS and the DIDER Board of Directors;

o All dental practitioners and dental sites must agree that a minimum of 20%
of their scheduled appointments will be comprised of Medicaid patients
and/or low-income (<200 FPL) uninsured patients who will be provided
care at reduced rates or free-of-charge. This information must be verified
by the site and/or Medicaid prior to release of loan payment to lending
institution.



http://hpsafind.hrsa.gov/

Practice Site Types

The following Practice Site types are eligible to be approved as practice sites:

1. Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs)
« Community Health Centers
* Migrant Health Centers
* Homeless Programs
* Public Housing Programs

2. FQHC Look-A-Likes

3. Other Health Facilities

« Community Outpatient Facilities (hospital or non-hospital affiliated)

« Community Mental Health Facilities

+ State and County Health Department Clinics

* Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) Health Service Corps
(IHSC)

* Free Clinics

* Mobile Units

» School-based Programs

* Long-term Care Facilities

« State Mental Health Facilities

4. Correctional or Detention Facilities

* Federal Prisons
» State Prisons

5. Private Practices (Solo or Group)

« Under the 2014-2018 SLRP Grant Program, all SLRP practice sites,
solo or group, must be a public or private non-profit entity.

The following are not eligible service sites, even if they are located in a HPSA:
« County/local prisons;
« Inpatient hospitals and other inpatient facilities; and
+ Clinics that limit care to veterans and active duty military personnel (e.g.
Veterans Homes and Tricare) are not eligible.

The State of Delaware, Health Care Commission requires participating Practice Sites
agree via a signed contract/MOU to the SLRP program requirements that govern the
practitioners participation in the program. Practice Sites are required to provide 50%
of the total award in non-federal funds to match the Federal share ($1 to $1) of the
loan repayment award. This requirement is in addition to paying each SLRP
participating provider a salary comparable to the prevailing rate for the area. See page
11 — Match Requirement and Distribution Schedule for additional information.

Failure to obtain an executed Practice Site contract for the applicant (practitioner) will
make the practitioner ineligible to participate in the SLRP program.



Note: The HCC may provide matching funds for SLRP awards based on
availability of state funding. Applicants may inquire about available state match
funds when submitting applications; however, the responsibility of securing the
non-federal match is the SLRP applicants and participating practice sites.

Eligible and Participating Practice Site must:

« Be identified by the HCC as an eligible loan repayment practice site;

e Be committed to employing a health professional full-time (minimum of 40
hours/week, for a minimum of 45 weeks each service year. The 40 hours per
week may be compressed into no less than 4 day/week, with no more than 12
hour hours of work in any 24-hour period. For more detailed information on
required clinician hours please see Appendix A.

« Provide non-federal matching funds equal to half (50%) of each total award;

e Provide assurance that compensation to Loan Repayment Clinician(s) will be
comparable to prevailing rates in the area;

o Provide adequate documentation of the medical care that will be provided by
the Loan Repayment Clinician; and

o Certify that the Loan Repayment Clinician will provide health care services to
Medicare, Medicaid, State Children Health Insurance Program (S-CHIP),
and/or uninsured patients.

« All practice site sponsors must not have been convicted of any felony,
including but not limited to violent felonies, as so defined under either Federal
or State law and as more particularly defined and enumerated in 11
Del.C.Sec.4201; and not have been convicted or found guilty of, or disciplined
by this or any other State licensing Board or Agency authorized to issue a
certificate to practice medicine or dentistry in this or any other State, for
unprofessional conduct as so defined in 24 Del.C.Sec.1731.

VERIFICATION OF SERVICE (PRACTITIONER & SITES)

The HCC may conduct quarterly site visits for randomly selected practitioners and their
sites. Site visits are not audits, regulatory in nature, or compliance investigations. The
site visits will be structured to provide a robust snapshot of the SLRP program’s quality.
The information gleaned will be used to:

1. Assess the program’s potential impact on the community in which the practitioner
IS serving;

2. Enhance the marketing and community outreach component of the SLRP
program;

3. Toinform quality improvement efforts to enhance the practitioners’ and the Sites’
overall clinical service delivery experience with the SLRP program to ensure
successful outcomes in high risk populations;

4. Provide ongoing training and technical assistance in the area of workforce
recruitment and retention in order to achieve successful collaborations with the
partnering organizations and stakeholders; and


http://delcode.delaware.gov/title24/c017/sc04/index.shtml

5. Obtain input and feedback from the practitioners, Site managers and others to
outline goals and expectations of the SLRP program.

Monitoring of Service

By contractual/MOU agreement, practitioners will be required to complete a mandatory
online survey, separate from site visits, to provide the HCC with requested information
for federal performance/progress reports. For example, one important criteria will be
verification of participating practitioners and sites terms and conditions relative to
accepting reimbursement under Medicare, Medicaid and the Children’s Health
Insurance Program, as appropriate for his/her designated discipline, to utilize a sliding
fee scale, and to see all patients regardless of ability to pay. A survey will be issued via
email by the HCC every six (6) months, during the two (2) year contract period.
Practitioners must complete two (2) surveys before each payment is issued. Six (6)
weeks is allowed for the completion and submission of each survey. Failure to respond
and/or provide the requested information will result in delayed release of payments to
the lending institution.

QUALIFYING EDUCATION LOANS

As per the federal regulations governing this program, government and commercial
loans incurred to obtain a health profession education qualify for the program.
Qualifying commercial lending institutions are those that are subject to examination and
supervision, in their capacity as lenders, by an agency of the United States or of the
State in which the institutions have their place of business.

All Delaware State Loan Repayment participants will receive loan repayment funding to
be applied to the principal, interest, and related expenses of the outstanding qualified
loan amount. Loan balances must be verified as eligible debt prior to approval in the
program and before making an initial and/or continuation contract award. There will be
absolutely no exceptions regarding eligible loan debt.

The following loans do not qualify for the State Loan Repayment Program:

» Eligible education loans consolidated with loans owned by any other person;

« Education loans that are currently in default;

» Loans for which the associated documentation does not identify the loan as
applicable to undergraduate or graduate education;

» Loans not obtained from a Government entity or commercial lending institution.
Most loans made by private foundations to individuals are not eligible for
repayment;

* Loans that have been repaid in full;

* Loans subject to cancellation;

+ Personal lines of credit;

» Parent PLUS Loans (made to parents);

» Residency relocation loans; and

* Credit Cards.



The Health Care Commission will be the final authority in determining qualifying
educational loans.

SERVICE COMMITMENT

Loan Repayment Awards

A limited number of loan repayment practitioner contracts will be awarded each year.
These awards are based on the availability of funding. For a two (2) year service
commitment, practitioners are eligible to receive a minimum award of $30,000 and a
maximum award of $100,000/2 year contract.

Application Screening

Practitioner applications will be competitively reviewed, scored and prioritized using a
variety of qualitative and quantitative criteria and a 100-point weighted scale. The HCC
reserves the discretionary right to define priorities for practitioners based on the state’s
need in accordance with areas such as:

e New provider in Delaware - A new practitioner/recruit to Delaware will provide
primary care services in eligible communities of need, designated as health
professional shortage areas.

e Delaware Resident - A practitioner who has been a long-time resident of
Delaware (e.g. attended school for any duration of K-12 in Delaware) or has lived
in a designated rural or urban community classified as a Health Professional
Shortage Area.

o The HCC reserves the discretionary right to provide an enrichment award
to Delaware residents, or any other eligible practitioner, that is traditionally
classified as “underrepresented” in a medical or dental profession in order
to promote a more diverse health care workforce in Delaware.

e Site HPSA Score - Delaware seeks practitioners who demonstrate the
characteristics for and an interest in serving the state’s medically underserved
populations. The HCC reserves the discretionary right to provide a higher
weighted qualitative and/or quantitative score for practitioners serving in a
practice site with a higher HPSA score than another applicant. This process is a
vital component of prioritizing applicants to align with availability of funding.

e DIDER/DIMER Graduates - Practitioner is a Delaware graduate and scholarship
recipient of the Delaware Institute of Medical Education and Research (DIMER)
or Delaware’s Delaware Institute of Dental Education and Research (DIDER)
programs.

o Programs include: Sidney Kimmel Medical College (formerly Jefferson
Medical College); Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine; and
Temple University Kornberg School of Dentistry.



e State Health Initiatives - Identified health care needs in specialties and/or
geographies (e.g. mental/behavioral/oral health; Sussex County area) and/or
associated needs of the Triple Aim- improved health, improved health care
guality and reduced health care costs

Application Call Schedule

Applications are accepted by the Health Care Commission (HCC) staff on a continual
basis. All application materials and documentation must be complete and submitted by
the due date to be considered for that round; there will be no exceptions. Applications
are due and reviewed according to the application call schedule posted at
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dhcc/sirp.html. Applications are reviewed by the State
Loan Repayment Review Committee with final review and approval by the Delaware
Health Care Commission. Awards/contracts are issued following final approval.

Practitioner Distribution Schedule

The fiscal distribution of a standardized payment structure is aligned with a
predetermined schedule for each approved practitioner. $30,000 to $100,000 contracts
are awarded for two year periods and payments are distributed in two parts to selected
and eligible loan institutions.

Continuing contracts are opportunities for currently enrolled SLRP practitioners to
receive one additional SLRP award. Continuing contracts are awarded for a one year
term for up to two years maximum—only if federal and matching funds are available. As
with original payment distribution procedures, the applicant is responsible for securing
the match funds and payments are issued in the final month of the each contract year.

The HCC will distribute awards using the following frequency and schedule:
Initial Two (2) Year Award - Payment Distribution:

e Year 1: First payment released after 12 months of service - 50% of total award.
e Year 2: Second Payment released after 24 months of service - 50% of total award.

Payment Distribution:

Payment Payment One (1) Year

Practitioner Two (2) (12 Months) (24 Months) | Continuation
Level Year Award |50% of Award|50% of Award Award

Mid-Level $ 30,000 | $ 15,000 | $ 15,000 | $ 15,000

$ 45,000 | $ 22,500 | $ 22,500 | $ 22,500

$ 60,000 | $ 30,000 | $ 30,000 | $ 30,000

Advanced $ 70,000 | $ 35,000 | $ 35,000 | $ 35,000

$ 85000 | $ 42,500 | $ 42,500 | $ 42,500

$ 100,000 | $ 50,000 | $ 50,000 | $ 50,000



http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dhcc/slrp.html

Note - 1) Practitioners are required to provide requested information and respond to
HCC administered surveys prior to the release of each payment over the two year
contract. Failure to respond and/or provide the requested information will result in
delayed release of payments to the lending institution; and

2) Practitioners are required to continue making their regularly scheduled loan
payments to their lending institution to avoid default status. An award by
Delaware’s SLRP program is a compliment to federal payment obligation and cannot
exceed practitioner’s outstanding student loan debit.

Match Requirement and Provider Site Distribution Schedule

Public and non-profit organizations contracting with an awarded SLRP participant will be
responsible for providing 50% of the awarded amount. Community sponsors, if not from
the practice site, must establish separate contracts with the practice site. The HCC will
only contract with the practice site and the SLRP participant. Awards are prioritized and
issued to mid and advanced level practitioners based on weighted criteria. The chart
below illustrates HCC’s evaluation categories, award caps, and required match from
State and/or Practice Sites:

Quantitative Total Award State and/or
Practitioner (Weighted Scale) (2 Year Federal PracticeSite
Level Criteria/Evaluation Contract) Funds Match
Mid-Level [Not Qualified $ - $ - $ -
Meets Qualifications $ 30,000.00 | $ 15,000.00 | $ 15,000.00
Exceeds Qualifications $ 45,000.00 [ $ 22,500.00 | $ 22,500.00
Distinguished Qualifications $ 60,000.00 | $ 30,000.00 | $ 30,000.00
Advanced |Not Qualified $ - $ - $ -
Meets Qualifications $ 70,000.00 | $ 35,000.00 [ $ 35,000.00
Exceeds Qualifications $ 85,000.00 | $ 42,500.00 | $ 42,500.00
Distinguished Qualifications $ 100,000.00 | $ 50,000.00 | $ 50,000.00

Note: the HCC reserves the right to prioritize applicants based on HPSA scores and
state priority for clinician needs in Delaware.

Organizations participating in SLRP and are obligated to provide matching funds must
issue a check for the full amount, as agreed in the MOU, to the HCC and within two (2)
weeks of receiving an executed agreement. Practice sites may solicit community
sponsors for support of non-federal funds to match SLRP awards. Contractual
agreements between sponsors and Practice sites are independent of the SLRP
agreements. The HCC will have no direct financial obligations with sponsoring
organizations.

The State of Delaware has an automated accounting system that accurately tracks,
processes, and reports cash received and corresponding payment transactions. Funds
from the Provider Site must be submitted by check to the HCC within two weeks of
receiving a signed contract. All checks must be issued by the contracted provider site.
Checks must be made out to the State of Delaware and total the full amount of the



provider share (50% of the award). The contracted provider site must reference the
SLRP Clinician’s full name and contract/MOU number (e.g. DHCC-XX-XX) on the check
and the check must be sent by postal mail to:

State of Delaware

Department of Health and Social Services
Delaware Health Care Commission
ATTN: SLRP Program Manager

410 Federal Street — Suite 7

Margaret O’Neill Building

Dover, Delaware 19901

CONTRACT TERMINATION

In the event awarded clinicians and/or Practice sites do not secure or otherwise supply
matching funds to Delaware, obligation to issue payment under this agreement, if any,
will cease and this agreement shall be terminated. Delaware shall pay Awardee in
accordance with this agreement only to the extent it has Federal and matching funds
available.

If the awarded clinician(s) defaults on obligation to the contractor (State of Delaware)
during the required two year contractual period, the most recent payment made on
behalf of the SLRP clinician for services already rendered will be the final payment. The
clinician will be terminated from further participation in the program unless able to obtain
eligible employment with another qualified entity. The clinician will also be solely
responsible for obtaining the required matching funds to continue support for the
remainder of the agreement period. If unable to find eligible employment with another
qualified Practice site, the clinician will be in “breach of contract.”

BREACH OF CONTRACT/DEFAULT

Failure to complete service obligations for any reason is a breach of the Delaware State
Loan Repayment Program and subject to monetary damages required by Section 338E of
the Public Health Service Act (42 U.S.C. 2540), as amended. Any participant who fails to
complete his or her term of obligated service under the terms and conditions of the
executed State Loan Repayment Contract will be considered to have breached the
Participation Contract.

Participants who falsify or misrepresent information on the Application or Verification
Forms or any other required program document will be disqualified from participating. If
the participant has already signed the contract they will be considered in breach of the
contract.

Participants must not have breached a prior service obligation to the
Federal/State/Local government or other entity, even if the obligation is satisfied.


http://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title42-section254o&num=0&edition=prelim

If the participants’ employment is terminated for good cause, as determined by the
employer and deemed valid by the HCC, the participant is subsequently in breach of
contract. If the termination is beyond the control of the participant (e.g. site closure) the
participant must immediately find placement in another federally designated HPSA
site. If the participant is not employed by another designated and approved HPSA site
within 30 days the participant will consequently be placed in breach status. Until such
time that a new site is obtained, the practitioner will have the option to request a
suspension as defined on page 14 of this manual in order to prevent a breach of
contract. Finding a new practice site, and the required match funding, will be the sole
responsibility of the practitioner. Waivers will not be granted for this situation.

Participant contracts/MOUSs will adhere to the federally required default provisions as
defined by the National Health Services Corp (NHSC) LRP as found at 42 U.S.C. §
2540(c)(1). These components include:

1) Termination provision;
2) Waiver provision; and
3) Breach Provision and incorporate the NHSC LRP default formula.

The contract/MOU will incorporate the following:

e A total of the amounts paid by the SLRP to or on behalf of the participant for loan
repayment for any period of obligated service not served;

e An amount equal to the number of months of obligated service not completed
multiplied by $7,500, and

e Interest on the amounts above at the maximum legal prevailing rate as determined
by the Treasurer of the United States from the date of breach, except that the
amount to recover will not be less than $31,000. The determined amount must be
paid to the Health Care Commission within one year of breach.

Example Default Scenario:

Jane Smith, NP, entered into a 2-year SLRP full-time service contract effective January
14, 2013. Her service end date is January 13, 2015. She received $50,000 in SLRP
financial support to apply toward her qualifying educational loans. She was terminated
for cause by her service site at the end of her workday on March 31, 2014. The HCC
determines that she defaulted on her SLRP contract on April 1, 2014, and served 442
days of her 2-year (730-day) service obligation.

Ms. Smith is liable to the State of Delaware for: (1) $19,725 for the loan repayments
received for obligated service not completed (288/730 x $50,000) and (2) $7,500 for the
months of service not completed ($7,500 x 10). Her total SLRP debt of $94,725 will
begin accruing interest at the maximum legal prevailing rate as of her default date (April
1, 2014), and is due to be paid in full on March 31, 2015.

SUSPENSION/WAIVER/CANCELLATION

The State of Delaware SLRP program is required by the federal NHSC program to
mandate that practitioners fulfill their contract without excessive absences, or significant


http://nhsc.hrsa.gov/loanrepayment/stateloanrepaymentprogram/index.html
http://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title42-section254o&num=0&edition=prelim
http://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title42-section254o&num=0&edition=prelim

interruptions in service. There are some circumstances that occur which will prevent a
participant from fulfilling the entire service commitment according to the designated
timeframe.

Suspension
A participant can request a suspension of the loan repayment commitment if

compliance with the commitment by the participant is temporarily impossible or would
involve a temporary hardship such that enforcement of the commitment would be
unconscionable. However, if granted by the HCC, the periods of the approved
suspension of the service will extend the participants’ service commitment end date.

The major categories of suspension are set forth below. Suspension requests are
submitted to the Health Care Commission via certified mail.

A. Leave of Absence for Medical or Personal Reasons. A suspension may be
granted for up to one year, if the practitioner provides independent medical
documentation of a physical or mental health disability, or personal
circumstances, including a terminal illness of an immediate family member which
results in the participant’s temporary inability to perform the Delaware SLRP
service obligation.

B. Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leave. If the practitioner’s
maternity/paternity/adoption leave will exceed 12 weeks during that year of
obligated service, a suspension may be granted based on documented medical
need.

C. Call to Active Duty in the Armed Forces. Practitioners who are military
reservists and are called to active duty must submit a request for a service
suspension to the Health Care Commission. The period of active military duty will
not be credited towards the SLRP service obligation. Suspensions for active duty
military assignment are granted for up to one year, beginning on the activation
date described in the reservist’s call to active duty order. A copy of the order to
active duty must be provided to the Health Care Commission with the request for
a suspension. In the event that the SLRP practitioner’s period of activity duty with
the Armed Forces entity is extended beyond the approved suspension period,
the participant must contact the Health Care Commission for guidance on how to
request an extension of the suspension period.

Waiver

A waiver permanently relieves the participant of all or part of the SLRP commitment. A
waiver may be granted only if the participant demonstrates that compliance with his/her
commitment is permanently impossible or would involve an extreme hardship such that
enforcement of the commitment would be unconscionable. A waiver request must be
submitted to the Health Care Commission in-person or via certified mail to include the
reason(s) the waiver is being sought. The practitioner will be contacted by the Health
Care Commission, or designated State of Delaware legal enforcement agency,



regarding the medical and financial documentation necessary to complete the waiver
request, and this documentation must be submitted to the HCC in-person or via certified
mail. Note that waivers are not routinely granted, and require a showing of compelling
circumstances.

Cancellation
The Delaware SLRP obligation will be cancelled in its entirety in the event of a
practitioner’s death. No liability will be transferred to the practitioner’s heirs.

APPLICATION PROCEDURES

To obtain a copy of the online application (Word fillable form) for the Delaware State
Loan Repayment Program, please visit:

Practice Site Application (Part A)

Practitioner/Clinician Application (Part B)

Loan Verification Form (Part C)

Annual Practice Report (Part D)

All required information must be completed and required documentation must be
uploaded before an application can be deemed complete.

Once the application has been filled out in its entirety, please submit completed and
signed application containing all of the requested information and documentation.

Then, the application can be submitted to the Delaware Health Care Commission in one
of three (3) ways:

1. Mail: Delaware Health Care Commission
ATTN: SLRP Program Manager
410 Federal Street - Suite 7
Margaret O’Neil Building
Dover, DE 19901

2. Email/PDF scan: dhcc@state.de.us

3. Faxto: (302) 739-6927

All applicants should receive written notification (USPS or Email) of receipt of their
application within 14 days of submission. Additionally, all applicants will receive written
notification of their acceptance into or denial from the SLRP program. Denial letters will
include an explanation for the denial.

Reference:

The Delaware Program Guidance Manual has been developed for use as a
compendium to the complete National Health Services Corp Loan Repayment Program
Fiscal Year 2014 Application & Program Guidance.



http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dhcc/practicasiteapplication.html
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dhcc/healthcareapplicationpackage.html
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhcc/healthcareapplicationpackage.html
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhcc/practicasiteapplication.html
http://nhsc.hrsa.gov/downloads/lrpapplicationguidance.pdf
http://nhsc.hrsa.gov/downloads/lrpapplicationguidance.pdf

APPENDIX A

Delaware State Loan Repayment Program (SLRP)
Eligibility Determination

In order to be eligible to receive a SLRP award, Applicant must meet all
Health Professional Requirements
AND
Practice Site must meet all Site Criteria

HEALTH PROFESSIONAL REQUIREMENTS:

1. | Must be United States citizen (Born or Naturalized) or U.S. National.

2. | Must provide services in a Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) that
corresponds to training and/or discipline. For example, psychiatrists and other
mental health providers must serve in a Mental Health HPSA. Visit
http://hpsafind.hrsa.gov/ to determine whether a specific location or facility is a
designated HPSA.

3. | Must have completed training in an accredited graduate training program in, and
possess an active and valid license in the State of Delaware (without restrictions
or encumbrances) to practice in one of the following eligible disciplines (see
Definitions , Page 6):

e MD Allopathic Medicine

e DO Osteopathic Medicine

e DDS/DMD General and Pediatric Dentistry

e NP Nurse Practitioner

e CNM Certified Nurse-Midwife

e PA Physician Assistant

e RDH Registered Dental Hygienist

e HSP Health Service Psychologist (Clinical and Counseling)
e LCSW Licensed Clinical Social Worker
e PNS Psychiatric Nurse Specialist

e LPC Licensed Professional Counselor

e MFT Marriage and Family Therapist

4. | Approved Primary Care Specialties for Physicians:

¢ Family Medicine (and osteopathic general practice)

Internal Medicine

Pediatrics

Obstetrics/Gynecology

Geriatrics

Psychiatry

Physicians who have not completed residency training programs are not eligible
for funding.



http://hpsafind.hrsa.gov/

Approved Primary Care Specialties for Nurse Practitioners and Physician
Assistants:

e Adult

e Family

e Pediatrics

e Psychiatry/Mental Health

e Geriatrics

e Women’s Health

Has Qualifying Educational Loans — Qualifying educational loans are
Government and private student loans (college loans) for actual costs paid for
tuition and reasonable educational and living expenses related to the
undergraduate or graduate education of the participant that were obtained by the
clinician prior to his/her submission of a SLRP application. Such loans must be
contemporaneous with the education received.

If the applicant has a consolidated/refinanced loan that is made up entirely of
qualifying educational loans of the applicant, the consolidated/refinanced loan is
eligible for repayment. If the applicant has consolidated otherwise qualifying
educational loans with any non-qualifying debt, no portion of the
consolidated/refinanced loan will be eligible.

Must practice full-time providing primary health services at an eligible site. “Full-
time” is defined as a minimum of 40 hours per week (not including travel or time
on-call), for a minimum 45 weeks per year. Participants who take more than
7.14 weeks of leave in a service year for any reason (vacation, sick leave, CME,
etc.) fail to meet the 45 week minimum.

e For providers of primary medical care services, dentists (with the
exception of pediatric dentists) and dental hygienists, at least 32
hours of the minimum 40 hours per week must be spent providing clinical
services at the SLRP-approved practice site during normally scheduled
office hours. The remaining eight hours can be spent providing clinical
services for patients or teaching* at the SLRP-approved practice site, or
providing clinical services in alternative settings (e.g., hospitals, nursing
homes, shelters) as directed by the SLRP-approved practice site, or
performing practice-related administrative activities.

e For obstetrics/gynecology, geriatric, behavioral and mental health
providers, and pediatric dentists, at least 21 hours of the minimum 40
hours per week must be spent providing clinical services at the SLRP-
approved practice site during normally scheduled office hours. The
remaining 19 hours can be spent providing clinical services for patients or
teaching* at the SLRP-approved practice site, or providing clinical
services in alternative settings (e.g., hospitals, nursing homes, shelters)
as directed by the SLRP-approved practice site, or performing practice-
related administrative activities. (administrative activities are limited to
eight hours per week).




*See definition of “Teaching”.

Must agree to provide primary health services for a minimum of two (2) years
full-time at a public or non-profit private entity that serves a Federally-designated
HPSA.

Must agree to accept reimbursement under Medicare, Medicaid and the
Children’s Health Insurance Program, as appropriate for his/her designated
discipline, to utilize a sliding fee scale, and to see all patients regardless of ability
to pay.

10.

Must not have any outstanding contractual obligation for health professional
service to the Federal Government, or to a State or other entity, unless that
service obligation will be completely satisfied prior to the SLRP contract being
signed.

11.

Must not have any federal judgment liens.

12.

Must not have a current default on any Federal payment obligations, even if
creditor now considers them to be in good standing.

13.

Must not have a current default on court-ordered child support payments.

14.

Must not have breached a prior service obligation to the Federal/State/local
government or other entity, even if the obligation was subsequently satisfied.

15.

Must not have had any Federal or non-Federal debt written off as uncollectible or
received a waiver of any Federal service or payment obligation.

16.

Must not have been convicted or found guilty of, or disciplined by this or any
other State licensing Board or Agency authorized to issue a certificate to practice
medicine or dentistry in this or any other State, for unprofessional conduct as so
defined in 24 Del.C.Sec.1731. Such a bar to applying for the Delaware State
Loan Repayment Program For Health Professionals shall occur if the applicant
was disciplined by means of levying a fine or by the restriction, suspension or
revocation, either permanently or temporarily, of the applicant’s certificate to
practice medicine or dentistry, or by other appropriate action, which may include
a requirement that the applicant who was disciplined must also complete
specified continuing professional education courses.

17.

Have not been convicted of any felony, including but not limited to violent
felonies, as so defined under either Federal or State law and as more particularly
defined and enumerated in 11 Del. C. Sec. 4201.



http://delcode.delaware.gov/title24/c017/sc04/index.shtml
http://delcode.delaware.gov/title11/c042/index.shtml

SITE REQUIREMENTS:

1.

Site must be located in a federally-designated Health Professional Shortage
Area (HPSA).

To determine HPSA status visit:

http://hpsafind.hrsa.gov/

Medically Underserved Areas (MUAS) do NOT qualify for State Loan
Repayment.

Site must be Public or Non-Profit

e Non-Profit private entity means an entity which may not lawfully hold or
use any part of its net earnings to the benefit of any private shareholder
or individual and which does not hold or use its net earnings for that
purpose.

e For-profit health facilities operated by non-profit organizations must
follow the same guidelines as all other SLRP sites. They must accept
reimbursement from Medicare, Medicaid, and the Children’s Health
Insurance Program, utilize a sliding fee scale, and see all patients
regardless of their ability to pay.

The following site types are eligible to be approved as practice sites (see
Definitions, Page 10):

6. Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs)
« Community Health Centers
» Migrant Health Centers
* Homeless Programs
* Public Housing Programs
7. FQHC Look-A-Likes
8. Other Health Facilities
« Community Outpatient Facilities (hospital or non-hospital affiliated )
« Community Mental Health Facilities
» State and County Health Department Clinics
» Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) Health Service Corps
(IHSC)
* Free Clinics
» Mobile Units
» School-based Programs
* Long-term Care Facilities
+ State Mental Health Facilities
9. Correctional or Detention Facilities
+ Federal Prisons
» State Prisons
10.Private Practices (Solo or Group)
As with all other SLRP practice sites, solo or group practice must be a
public or private non-profit entity.

The following are not eligible service sites, even if they are located in a HPSA:



http://hpsafind.hrsa.gov/

County/local prisons, inpatient hospitals and other inpatient facilities. Clinics
that limit care to veterans and active duty military personnel (e.g. VA and
Tricare) are not eligible.

All dentists must agree that a minimum of 20% of their scheduled
appointments will be comprised of Medicaid and S-CHIP (Delaware Healthy
Children Program) patients and/or low-income (<200 FPL) dentally uninsured
patients who will be provided care at reduced rates or free-of-charge. Low-
income patients may include participants in the Nemours Dental Outreach
program and the Vocational Rehabilitation program administered through the
Delaware Division of Public Health.

Site must agree, via a signed Memorandum of Understanding, to provide non-
federal matching funds equal to half of each total award, in addition to paying
each SLRP participating provider a salary comparable to the prevailing rate for
the area.

Agree not to reduce a clinician’s salary due to SLRP support.

Site must charge for professional services at the usual and customary
prevailing rates.

Site must provide discounts for individuals with limited incomes (i.e., use a
sliding fee scale). For information about HHS Poverty Guidelines, visit

e For those with annual incomes at or below 100 percent of the HHS Poverty
Guidelines, practice site must provide services at no charge or at a nominal
charge.

e For individuals between 100-200 percent of the HHS Poverty Guidelines,
practice site must provide a schedule of discounts, which should reflect a
nominal charge covered by a third party (either public or private). Practice
site may charge for services to the extent that payment will be made by a
third party which is authorized or under legal obligation to pay the charges.

Site sponsor must not have been convicted of any felony, including but not
limited to violent felonies, as so defined under either Federal or State law and
as more particularly defined and enumerated in 11 Del.C.Sec.4201; and not
have been convicted or found guilty of, or disciplined by this or any other State
licensing Board or Agency authorized to issue a certificate to practice medicine
or dentistry in this or any other State, for unprofessional conduct as so defined
in 24 Del.C.Sec.1731.



http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty/13poverty.cfm
http://delcode.delaware.gov/title11/c042/index.shtml
http://delcode.delaware.gov/title24/c017/sc04/index.shtml

APPENDIX B

DEFINITIONS: HEALTH PROFESSIONALS

(1) Primary Medical Care
a. Allopathic (MD) or Osteopathic (DO) Physicians must have:

i.  Certification in a primary care specialty from a specialty board approved
by the American Board of Medical Specialties or the American
Osteopathic Association
-OR -

Completed a residency program in a primary care specialty, approved by
the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or the American
Osteopathic Association; AND

ii.  Acurrent, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted health professional

license to practice in the State of Delaware.

Psychiatrists must meet the qualifications for physicians as listed above,
but are required to serve exclusively in mental health HPSAs.

Physicians who meet the above residency training and licensure requirements
may serve at an approved service site, providing geriatric services, if they have
completed discipline-specific advanced training in geriatrics.

b. Primary Care Physician Assistants (PAs) must practice under the
supervision of a primary care physician and have:

i. A certificate of completion or an associate, bachelor’s or master’s
degree from a physician assistant educational program accredited by the
Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician
Assistant at a college, university or educational institution that is
accredited by a U.S. Department of Education nationally recognized
accrediting body or organization;

ii.  National certification by the National Commission on Certification of
Physician Assistants; AND

iii. A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted health
professional license to practice in the State of Delaware.

The approved primary care practice areas, for Physician Assistants (PA) are adult,
family, geriatric, psychiatry, mental health, geriatrics, and women’s health.

PAs who meet the above education, training and licensure requirements may serve
at an approved service site, and provide geriatric services, if they have completed
discipline-specific advanced training in geriatrics.




PAs who meet the education, training and licensure requirements, and provide
mental and behavioral health services, must serve in a designated mental health

HPSA

(2) Primary Nursing Care
a. Prlmary Care Certified Nurse Practitioners (NPs) must have:

A master’s degree, post master’s certificate, or doctoral degree from a
school accredited by the National League for Nursing Accrediting
Commission or the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, in

one of the primary care NP specialties listed below;

National certification by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC),
the

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP), the Pediatric Nursing
Certification Board (formerly the National Certification Board of Pediatric
Nurse Practitioners and Nurses), or the National Certification Corporation in
one of the primary care NP specialties listed below; AND

A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted health professional
license to practice in the State of Delaware.

The approved primary care specialties for NPs are adult, family, pediatric,
psychiatric-mental health, geriatrics, and women’s health.

NPs who meet the education, training and licensure requirements as listed above,
may serve at an approved service site, and provide geriatric services, if they have
completed discipline-specific advanced training in geriatrics.

NPs who meet the education, training and licensure requirements, and provide
mental and behavioral health services, must serve in a designated mental health

HPSA.

b. Certlfled Nurse-Midwives (CNMs) must have:

A master’s degree or post baccalaureate certificate from a school accredited
by the American College of Nurse Midwives (ACNM);

National certification by the American Midwifery Certification Board (formerly
the ACNM Certification Council); AND

A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted health professional
license to practice in the State of Delaware.

(3) Primary Care Dentistry
a. General Dentists must have:

A DDS or DMD degree from a program accredited by the American
Dental Association (ADA), Commission on Dental Accreditation
(CODA); AND

A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted health
professional license to practice in the State of Delaware.




b. Pediatric Dentists must have:

i. A DDS or DMD degree from a program accredited by the American
Dental Association (ADA), Commission on Dental Accreditation
(CODA);

ii. Completed a 2 year training program in the specialty of pediatric
dentistry that is accredited by the ADA, CODA; AND

iii. A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted health
professional license to practice in the state of Delaware.

c. Registered Dental Hygienists (RDHs) must have:

i. Graduated from a 4 year program accredited by the American Dental
Association (ADA), Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA), with a
bachelor’'s degree in dental hygiene
-OR -

Graduated from a 2 year dental hygiene training program accredited by the
ADA, CODA with a diploma, certificate or associate degree AND have at least
one year of experience as a licensed dental hygienist;

ii. Successfully passed the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination; AND

iii. A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted health professional
license to practice in the State of Delaware

(4) Primary Care Behavioral and Mental Health
a. Psychiatrists must:
i. Meet the qualifications for physicians (see Allopathic (MD) or Osteopathic (DO)
Physicians [see (1)a above]; AND
ii. Serve exclusively in mental health HPSAs.

b. Health Service Psychologists (HSPs) must have:

i. A doctoral degree (PhD or equivalent) directly related to full professional
work in clinical or counseling psychology from a program accredited by the
American Psychological Association, Commission on Accreditation;

ii. Passed the Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology (EPPP);

iii. The ability to practice independently and unsupervised as a health
service psychologist; AND

iv. A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted health professional
license to practice in the State of Delaware.

c. Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSWs) must have:

i. A master’s degree or doctoral degree in social work from a school accredited
by the Council on Social Work Education and affiliated with an educational
institution accredited by the U.S. Department of Education nationally
recognized accrediting body;

ii. Successfully passed the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Clinical or
Advanced Generalist licensing exam prior to July 1, 1998, or the ASWB
Clinical Exam on or after July 1, 1998;
-OR -
Successfully passed the LCSW Standard Written Examination and Written
Clinical Vignette Examination;

iii. Completed state required number of years or hours of clinical social



work experience under the supervision of a licensed independent social
worker and passing the clinical level of the ASWB exam.; AND

A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted health professional
license to practice in the State of Delaware.

d. Psychlatrlc Nurse Specialists (PNSs) must have:

A master’s degree or higher degree in nursing from a program accredited by
the National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission (NLNAC) or the
Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) with a specialization
in psychiatric/mental health and 2 years of post-graduate supervised clinical
experience in psychiatric/mental health nursing

-OR -

A baccalaureate or higher degree in nursing from a program accredited by the
NLNAC or CCNE;

Certification by the American Nurses Credentialing Center as a Psychiatric
and Mental Health Nurse, Clinical Specialist in Adult Psychiatric and Mental
Health Nursing, or Clinical Specialist in Child and Adolescent Psychiatric and
Mental Health Nursing; AND

A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted health

professional license to practice in the State of Delaware.

e. Marrlage and Family Therapists (MFTs) must:

Have completed a master’s or doctoral program in marriage and family
therapy from a program accredited by the American Association for Marriage
and Family Therapy, Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family
Therapy Education (COAMFTE) or earned a graduate degree in another
mental health field (psychiatry, psychology, clinical social work, psychiatric
nursing, etc.) and completed a COAMFTE accredited post-graduate degree
clinical training program in marriage and family therapy;

Have at least 2 years of post-graduate supervised clinical experience as an
MFT

-OR -

Be a Clinical Fellow member of the American Association for Marriage and
Family Therapy (AAMFT);

-OR -

Successfully passed the MFT Standard Written Examination; AND

Have a current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted health
professional license to practice in the State of Delaware.

f. Llcensed Professional Counselors (LPCs) must:

Have a master’s degree or higher degree with a major study in counseling
from a school accredited by a U.S. Department of Education nationally
recognized regional or State institutional accrediting agency;

Have at least 2 years of post-graduate supervised counseling experience;
AND

Have a current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted health
professional license to practice in the State of Delaware.



DEFINITIONS: PRACTICE SITES

Federally-Qualified Health Centers (FQHC) — FQHCs include: (1) nonprofit
entities that receive a grant (or funding from a grant) under section 330 of the
Public Health Service (PHS) Act (i.e., health centers); (2) FQHC “Look-Alikes”
which are nonprofit entities that are certified by the Secretary of HHS as meeting
the requirements for receiving a grant under section 330 of the PHS Act but are
not grantees; and (3) outpatient health programs or facilities operated by a tribe or
tribal organization under the Indian Self-Determination Act or by an urban Indian
organization receiving funds under title V of the Indian Health Care Improvement
Act.

FQHC Look-Alike — Health centers that have been identified by Health
Resources and Services Administration and certified by the Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services as meeting the definition of “health center” under Section
330 of the PHS Act, although they do not receive grant funding under Section
330.

Community Mental Health Center (CMHC) — An entity that meets applicable
licensing or certification requirements for CMHCs in the state in which it is located
and provides all of the following core services: (1) outpatient services, including
specialized outpatient services for children, the elderly, individuals who are
chronically mentally ill, and residents of the CMHC’s mental health service area
who have been discharged from inpatient treatment at a mental health facility; (2)
24 hour-a-day emergency care services; (3) day treatment, or other partial
hospitalization services, or psychosocial rehabilitation services; and (4) screening
for patients being considered for admission to state mental health facilities to
determine the appropriateness of such admission. Effective March 1, 2001, in the
case of an entity operating in a state that by law precludes the entity from providing
the screening services, the entity may provide for such service by contract with an
approved organization or entity (as determined by the Secretary) that, among
other things, meets applicable licensure or certification requirements for CMHCs
in the state in which it is located. A CMHC may receive Medicare reimbursement
for partial hospitalization services only if it demonstrates that it provides such
services.

Public Health Department Clinic — Primary or mental health clinics operated
by a state, county or local health department.

Immigration Health Service Corps — Clinical sites administered by the U.S.
Immigration, Customs, and Enforcement Agency with the Department of
Homeland Security.

Free Clinic — A medical facility offering community health care on a free or very
low-cost basis. Care is generally provided in these clinics to persons who have
lower or limited income and no health insurance, including persons who are not
eligible for Medicaid or Medicare. Almost all free clinics provide care for acute,



non-emergent conditions. Many also provide a full range of primary care services
(including preventive care) and care for chronic conditions.

Mobile Units/Clinics — Medical vehicles (e.g., mobile health vans) that travel to
underserved rural and urban communities, providing primary care services to
individuals located in a HPSA. Clinicians working within a mobile unit that functions
as part of an approved site will receive service credit for direct patient care, so long
as the mobile unit is affiliated with an approved site and provides services to only
the approved HPSA area and/or members of a HPSA.

School Based Clinics — For providers working at an approved school based clinic,
SLRP requires that the school based clinic is open year round with sufficient patient
visits to meet the clinical practice requirements. If the approved site is not open
year round, the clinician will be required to work at additional approved site(s) to
meet the clinical practice requirements.

Correctional Facility — Clinics within state or federal prisons. Clinical sites within
county and local prisons are not eligible. Federal prisons are clinical sites that are
administered by the U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons
(BOP). State prisons are clinical sites administered by the state.

Solo or Group Private Practice — A clinical practice that is made up of either one
or many providers in which the providers have ownership or an invested interest
in the practice. Private practices can be arranged to provide primary medical,
dental and/or mental health services and can be organized as entities on the
following basis: fee-for-service; capitation; a combination of the two; family practice
group; primary care group; or multi-specialty group.

As with all other SLRP practice sites, solo or group practice must be a public or
private non-profit entity.

DEFINITIONS: OTHER

Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) — Federally-designated areas that have
shortages of primary medical care, dental or mental health providers and may be urban
or rural areas, population groups or medical or other public facilities. A list of HPSA
designations is available on HRSA’s website: http://bhpr.hrsa.gov/shortage/.

Primary Health Services — Means health services regarding family medicine, internal
medicine, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology, dentistry, or mental health, that are
provided by physicians or other health professionals.

Primary Health Care Services — Under section 330(b) of the Public Health Services
Act, the term “required primary health services” means:
i.  basic health services which, for the purposes of this section, shall consist of:
I.  health services related to family medicine, internal medicine, pediatrics,
obstetrics, or gynecology, that are furnished by physicians and where


http://bhpr.hrsa.gov/shortage/

appropriate, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and nurse
midwives;
II. diagnostic laboratory and radiologic services;
lll. preventive health services, including;
(aa) prenatal and perinatal services;
(bb) appropriate cancer screening;
(cc) well-child services;
(dd) immunizations against vaccine-preventable diseases;
(ee) screenings for elevated blood lead levels, communicable diseases,
and cholesterol;
(ff) pediatric eye, ear, and dental screenings to determine the need for
vision and hearing correction and dental care;
(gg) voluntary family planning services;
(hh) preventive dental services; IV. emergency medical services; and
IV. emergency medical services; and
V. pharmaceutical services as may be appropriate for particular centers;

ii. referrals to providers of medical services (including specialty referral when
medically indicated) and other health-related services (including substance
abuse and behavioral health services);

iii. patient case management services (including counseling, referral, and follow-up
services) and other services designed to assist health center patients in
establishing eligibility for and gaining access to Federal, State, and local
programs that provide or financially support the provision of medical, social,
housing, educational, or other related services;

iv. services that enable individuals to use the services of the health center
(including outreach and transportation services and, if a substantial number of
the individuals in the population served by a center are of limited English-
speaking ability, the services of appropriate personnel fluent in the language
spoken by a predominant number of such individuals); and

v. education of patients and the general population served by the health center
regarding the availability and proper use of health services.

Unencumbered License — An unencumbered license means a health professions
license that is not revoked, suspended, or made probationary or conditional by the State
licensing or registering authority as the result of disciplinary action.

Commercial or Private Student Loans — Also known as a college loan, an educational
loan or an alternative student loan — is a non-government loan made by a private lender
specifically for graduate or undergraduate education expenses, such as tuition, room,
board, books, and other associated costs. Loans made by banks, credit unions,
savings and loan associations, insurance companies, schools, and other financial or
credit institutions which are subject to examination and supervision in their capacity as
lenders by an agency of the United States or of the State in which the lender has its
principal place of business. These are unsecured loans with various options for
repayment and may offer forbearance and deferral options. Loans obtained to cover
residency and relocation expenses do not qualify for repayment under the SLRP.



Qualifying Educational Loans — Qualifying educational loans are Government and
private student loans for actual costs paid for tuition and reasonable educational and
living expenses related to the undergraduate or graduate education of the participant
that were obtained by the clinician prior to his/her submission of an application to
participate in the SLRP. Such loans must be contemporaneous with the education
received. Participants will receive funds for repayment of qualifying educational loans
that are still owed. If the applicant has a consolidated/refinanced loan that is made up
entirely of qualifying educational loans of the applicant, the consolidated/refinanced loan
is eligible for repayment. If the applicant has consolidated otherwise qualifying
educational loans with any non-qualifying debt, no portion of the
consolidated/refinanced loan will be eligible.

Default of payment obligation — Being more than 120 days past due on the payment
of a financial obligation.

Default of service obligation — Failure for any reason to begin or complete a
contractual service commitment.

Teaching — As defined under the SLRP program, teaching is providing clinical
education to students/residents in their area of expertise at the SLRP-approved practice
site. The clinical education may: (1) be conducted as part of an accredited clinical
training program; (2) include the clinical supervision of a student/clinician that is
required in order for that student/clinician to receive a license under state law; or (3)
include mentoring that is conducted as part of the Health Careers Opportunity Program
(HCOP) or the Centers of Excellence Program, which are both funded through federal
HRSA grants. Teaching must be conducted at the SLRP-approved practice site. If
SLRP participant is actually providing the clinical service while a student/clinician
observes, the activity should be treated as direct patient care.



APPENDIX C

LINKS TO APPLICATION PACKAGES

Practitioner/Clinician Application
Practitioner Loan Information
Practice Site Application
Practice Site Annual Report



http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dhcc/healthcareapplicationpackage.html
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dhcc/healthcareapplicationpackage.html
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dhcc/practicasiteapplication.html
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dhcc/practicasiteapplication.html

